Posted by: glorifyhim1 | August 12, 2017

My Hope for America

My Hope for America

 

Like many of you, I have listened to the news reports of the violence that has engulfed Charlottesville, Virginia this weekend as white nationalists and counterprotestors clashed over the removal of Confederate monuments in the South. To be honest, instead of anger or revenge, I feel a deep sadness. What has happened to America?

 

Our nation is more divided today than I can remember in my lifetime. I was a child in the 1960’s and can remember all the turmoil in our nation during the Civil Rights Movement. It was a hard time in our nation. And I am not so naive to think that all the problems this movement exposed, were magically solved. Yet, on a personal level, I also remember during those ensuing years going to school, playing, and working with people of many different races and nationalities. I attended college with many international students and I developed friendships with others who didn’t look like me, talk like, me, or believe like me.

 

I personally believe that the widespread intolerance and hate we are witnessing in our nation and world today are not because of what we look like or our political persuasions. It is because of who we are on the inside. I realize that not all people believe in Jesus, but if even those of us who say we do, honestly lived what Jesus taught, can you even begin to imagine the difference it could make in our world? On the night before Jesus, Himself, was crucified, He visibly demonstrated His servant’s heart as He knelt and washed His disciples’ feet. Then He told His disciples:  “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another” (John 13:34-35).

 

Jesus also taught His disciples that they should love their enemies. “But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you” (Matthew 5:44).

 

How do I show love to my enemy? Do I listen to him with my heart? Do I give her respect even when I disagree? Do I try to find solutions to problems? Do I honestly and earnestly pray for him or her? As Paul told the Romans: “Repay no one evil for evil. Have regard for good things in the sight of all men. If it is possible, as much as depends on you, live peaceably with all men” (Romans 12:17-18).

 

As a Christian, I sincerely believe that America’s only hope lies in the believers among us turning to God and seeking Him with our whole hearts. As the Lord told Solomon after He had prayed and dedicated the Temple: “If My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land” (2 Chronicles 7:14). We must humble ourselves before Him, pray and seek Him, and turn from our sin. If we do those things, He will hear us, forgive us, and heal our land.

 

No matter who is right or who is wrong, regardless of what we think should be done, can we humble ourselves before God and seek Him and His way? Only God can change the hearts of men. Let us, as much as we can, seek to live so that others can see the love of our Savior – the Savior who delays His coming as He desires all men to be saved. This is my hope for America.

 

“Therefore I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men, for kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and reverence. For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.”

(1 Timothy 2:1-4)

Leave a Reply

Categories

