Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 25, 2017

When We Don’t Measure Up

When We Don’t Measure Up

 

Have you ever felt that you just didn’t measure up? Perhaps you didn’t measure up to someone else’s expectations? You just weren’t good enough, smart enough, pretty enough, or strong enough. Perhaps you, yourself, felt inadequate or unable. Why try if you knew you would fail? You knew you didn’t measure up.

 

I have had my share of moments when I knew I didn’t measure up. Sometimes it was at the hands of others as I’ve been ignored or left out. At other times, I, myself, felt so unqualified for a task someone wanted me to do. And at still other times, my own fears, weaknesses, and  insufficiencies have convinced me that I didn’t measure up.

 

Those of us who have experienced such moments can take heart that we are not alone. Consider just four examples of people in the Bible who also knew how it felt to not measure up.

  • Moses felt totally unqualified to lead the children of Israel out of Egypt. He replied to God’s call with “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh, and that I should bring the children of Israel out of Egypt?” (Exodus 3:11)
  • Gideon felt small and weak. He wondered how someone like him could  save Israel from the Midianites. He replied: O my Lord, how can I save Israel? Indeed my clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my father’s house” (Judges 6:15).
  • The prophet Elijah had run out of steam. He felt alone and discouraged. He answered God: “I have been very zealous for the Lord God of hosts; for the children of Israel have forsaken Your covenant, torn down Your altars, and killed Your prophets with the word. I alone am left; and they seek to take my life” (1 Kings 19:10).
  • Peter, the disciple, surely felt fear and failure as he followed Jesus after his arrest in the garden, yet denied knowing Him three times. Peter had previously bravely told Jesus: “Even if I have to die with You, I will not deny You!” (Matthew 26:35)  

 

Moses felt unqualified. Gideon felt small and weak. The prophet Elijah felt alone and discouraged. Peter surely felt fear and failure. Yet God did not give up on them when they failed to measure up. He met them where they were and helped them see who He is.

 

  • God assured both Moses and Gideon of His presence with them (see Exodus 3:12 and Judges 6:16).
  • He helped Elijah see the true picture – there were many in Israel who were still faithful to the one true God (see 1 Kings 19:15-18).
  • Jesus forgave Peter and restored him to ministry (see John 21:15-17).

 

At different times in my life, I can identify with each of these followers. I have felt totally unqualified for something God called me to do. I have felt small and weak, and unworthy. I have been tired, worn out, and discouraged. And I have experienced fear and failure. Yet, I have learned that when I just don’t measure up, God will do the same things for me as He did for Moses, Gideon, Elijah, and Peter. And He will do the same things for you, too.

 

  • He meets us where we are – not necessarily where we ought to be.
  • He reminds us of His love and presence with us.
  • He helps us see the reality of our situations which are probably quite different from what we have imagined them to be.
  • He stands with open arms, ready to forgive and restore us.

 

Little by little, God is helping me learn that it is not about measuring up to my own or anyone else’s standards or expectations. Instead, it is putting my faith and trust in Jesus Christ and seeking Him in every area of my life. Just as Moses and Gideon learned, when God calls us and is with us, He can  accomplish in and through us more than we could ever do through our own abilities. Like Elijah, we learn that God is our strength and help when we have run out of steam. He knows when we need rest and nourishment. Yet He also knows when it’s time for Him to ask: “What are you doing here?” We can trust that He will direct our next steps. And like Peter, we learn that we have a God who loves us more than we ever can ever comprehend. He is ever ready to forgive us when we fail and to restore us to a life of purpose and meaning.

 

How thankful I am for my Savior and Lord who promises to always be with me; who strengthens and helps me; who knows and understands me; and who loves, forgives, and restores me. I know I can never measure up, but what peace in knowing I don’t have to. For I know the One who loved me enough to die for me, who covers me with His righteousness, who makes me worthy. And this One more than measures up!

 

“He has shown you, O man, what is good;

And what does the Lord require of you

But to do justly,

To love mercy,

And to walk humbly with your God?” (Micah 6:8)

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

