Posted by: glorifyhim1 | June 17, 2017

A Story of Three Dads

A Story of Three Dads

 

I have been blessed to know many great dads. I would like to tell you about three dads who are very special to me. They have taught me much, probably more by their actions than their words.

 

The first of these dads is my Daddy.

This is a picture of him with my sister and me – many, many years ago!

 

To say that Daddy looked after me and took care of me is an understatement. He was always there for me – from rescuing me when I backed our little Rambler into a deep culvert across from a little neighborhood grocery, to picking me up at college and driving me home or to the local burger hut when I “seriously” needed a break!  

 

Daddy worked at the local textile mill and often put in long hours. He also worked numerous odd jobs to supplement the family income. When I was small, I can remember eagerly waiting for him to come home. There might be a surprise in his lunch box or perhaps a ride around the yard in the wheelbarrow. And as my sister and I got a little older, perhaps we could talk Daddy into taking us swimming in a nearby creek.

 

Daddy was a lot of fun and enjoyed playing jokes, but if I had to think of one word to describe Daddy it would be giving. He was free hearted with everything he had. He didn’t have a lot of money, but he would help someone who needed it anyway he could whether it was volunteering labor, delivering food from his garden, or giving a ride to the doctor. As busy as he was, he never seemed too busy to give just a little more of himself. The very week that Daddy died, I remembered crying fresh tears a few days later when I opened my refrigerator and was reminded of a fresh supply of garden lettuce that Daddy had picked, cleaned, and given to me just before he had died. Daddy found much joy in living and I think he received most of that joy through all he gave to others.

 Here is a picture of the next Dad I would like to tell you about. This is one of our favorite family snapshots when our kids were young.

My husband first became a Dad to a little girl that he was never able to hold in his arms. Our first daughter died at birth. Although separated for now, my husband has faithfully honored her memory. One of the most treasured traditions that he continues even now is giving me a vase of four flowers – one for each child, on every Mother’s Day. But I think I can best tell you about him by sharing some of the kids’ thoughts about their Dad. These are the words I have often heard them use to describe him – hard-working, dependable, trustworthy, fun, the answer man, and, affectionately, “old man.” When they think of their Dad, they immediately think of someone they can depend on to be there, to do what he says he will do. They know they can go to him with a question or a problem and that he will try his best to help them. But they also remember that he was “fun.” He made funny comments, did funny things, and enjoyed a good laugh. Our daughter chuckles remembering when her Dad found her shopping list and scrawled “redneck repellent” to the bottom of her list!

 

As I have watched my husband with our kids through the years, I think the word I would use to describe him is “selfless.” Things were never about him or what he wanted. He was always taking care of his family and putting their needs – and wants – ahead of his own. Although our kids are all grown now, his selflessness still radiates as he reaches out to help them and others in ways that he can, from packing a U-Haul, to fixing and repairing something, to building ramps, to serving on disaster relief teams. He finds joy in selflessly helping others.


Lastly, here is a picture of my son with his son, Benji, at a place they both love.

My son and daughter-in-law’s first son, Silas, died just before birth or I’m sure there would be two little fellows in this picture. There is a special place in my son’s heart for both Silas and Benji. I love watching my son be a Dad! Surely, he takes care of Benji’s needs, but what makes my heart most proud is how he loves him. He does the extra little things that mean everything to a young child. They play on the playground together. They share “coffee” dates. Sometimes, he takes Benji to work with him. They go grocery shopping together. They pick out flowers to take home to Mommy. My son even makes sure when they go to a certain store that he has a quarter to give Benji for the sticker machine. I’m sure my son remembers when his own PaPa, my Dad, gave him quarters for the machines at our grocery store all those years ago.

 

I think the word I would use to describe my son would be caring. He cares for his wife, his sons, and the foster children they have cared for in their home. He cares about the poor, the needy, and those who are less fortunate. He is sensitive to those who have no voice and is burdened over their plight. Yet, in the midst of deep concern for others, he remembers a little boy who wants to see Thomas the Train and who desires a quarter for the sticker machine.

 

Three Dads – each one with varying gifts and abilities, facing different hurdles and challenges, but each bringing their own special gifts to being a Dad. On this Father’s Day, I’d like to thank my Heavenly Father for these three men and what they mean to me and our families. And I’d like to thank each of them for showing me what a  difference lives of giving, selflessness, and caring can make in the lives of others around them. You all were, are the best! Happy Father’s Day!

 

“The righteous man walks in his integrity; his children are blessed after him.”

(Proverbs 20:7)

Leave a Reply

Categories

