Posted by: glorifyhim1 | June 14, 2017

Yearning for Egypt

Yearning for Egypt

 

The Old Testament tells the thrilling story of how God, through many signs and wonders, delivered the people of Israel from the oppressive rule of the Egyptians. He led them out of Egypt, even parted the sea so they could cross on dry ground and escape Pharaoh’s army. He provided bread (manna) for them each morning and sent quail for meat at night. When they were thirsty, He provided water from a rock. Yet, in spite of all the ways God led them and cared for them, somehow the people couldn’t seem to grasp the big picture.

 

Instead, the people complained. They grumbled. They wished they were back in Egypt. Even as they stood on the brink of the promised land, they shrank back in fear as they listened to the spies’ report of the giants that were living there. “Then all the congregation raised a loud cry, and the people wept that night. And all the people of Israel grumbled against Moses and Aaron. The whole congregation said to them, ‘Would that we had died in the land of Egypt! Or would that we had died in this wilderness!” (Numbers 14:12)

 

While we often read these stories and shake our heads in disbelief at the Israelites’ lack of trust, don’t we often do the same thing? Haven’t we all yearned to return to some day, some time when things seemed so much better?

 

Sometimes as I look at the world today, I wish I could return to the world I knew as a child, or even as a young parent, when things just seemed so much better. I hate turning on the news to discover what evil has taken another life or multiple lives. I am so weary of all the arguing, bickering, and casting stones that does little to work out real solutions – but instead promotes even more hate, disrespect, and division. I find myself grumbling and complaining far too much. I yearn to return to “Egypt.”  

 

Yet, as I read about the people of Israel as they journeyed through the wilderness, I realize that there were basically three things the people had forgotten.

 

  • They had forgotten their former difficulties and how they had pleaded for deliverance from their cruel taskmasters.
  • They had forgotten who they were. They were God’s chosen people. He had called them out and was leading them to the promised land.
  • They had forgotten who God is. Scripture confirms that God is Sovereign over all. “For I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like Me. Declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times things that are not yet done, saying, ‘My counsel shall stand, and I will do all My pleasure’” (Isaiah 46:9b-10).

 

When I begin to grumble and complain and yearn for “Egypt,” I believe that I forget the same three things. I forget the difficulties and problems of those earlier years. As the saying goes, the “good ole days,” were not always as good as we remember them to be. A simple flip through the history books confirms that each generation has their share of difficulties and problems. As time separates us from those days, we tend to remember the good things and forget the difficult or hard things.

 

I forget who I am – or whose I am. I am a child of God! Jesus died to save me and give me eternal life. As Paul told the Colossians, we are reconciled to God by Christ.  And you, who once were alienated and enemies in your mind by wicked works, yet now He has reconciled in the body of His flesh through death, to present you holy, and blameless, and above reproach in His sight” (Colossians 1:21-22). Even in the midst of troubles and difficulties, I know that I am His. The Bible is filled with promises for all of us who place our faith and trust in Him. No matter what we endure here on earth, we have his promise. “For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” So we may boldly say: “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear. What can man do to me?” (Hebrews 13:5b-6)

 

Lastly, I forget who God is. Scripture is abundantly clear that God is above all and over all. God, Himself, stated: “For I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like Me” (Isaiah 46:9). God is Creator (Genesis 1:1). He is Sustainer, holding all things together (Colossians 1:17). God can do all things (Matthew 19:26) and absolutely nothing can thwart His purposes. I know that You can do everything, And that no purpose of Yours can be withheld from You” (Job 42:2).

 

Instead of yearning for “Egypt,” I want to look forward to what lies ahead. I want to grasp the big picture. Instead of grumbling and complaining over all that is wrong, I want to remember who I am in Christ and who God is! I want to place my faith and trust, solely and completely in Him, claim His promises, and look forward with hope. I want to follow Him!

 

 

“I Have Decided” by Aaron Pelsue

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jAIplRcxM4E

Leave a Reply

Categories

