Posted by: glorifyhim1 | June 7, 2017

In My Sweet Spot

In My Sweet Spot

 

The term “sweet spot” has come to mean a variety of things from that perfect spot on a bat or racket that makes the best contact with the ball, to that flawless combination of factors that leads to good returns on the stock market. Typically, one’s sweet spot is considered to be the place or point where you are at your best. It could be something you do, or don’t do. It is that “just right” place where you know joy and contentment. Do you have a sweet spot?

A few years ago, I would have probably told you that my sweet spot was sitting on our front porch swing, listening to the little creek nearby and watching the kids play in the yard. It was a time for rest, silent prayer, and rejuvenation.

 

At other times, my sweet spot was on a stool at my kitchen counter, banging away on typewriter keys – yes, a typewriter! – as I worked on my first writing assignments. That sweet spot later moved to the corner of my bedroom at my desk computer. Then, still later, it moved all over the house as I carried my laptop from one room to another – but, no matter the location, when I was writing, I was in my sweet spot.

 

Over the years, I have discovered my sweet spot in a variety of places including a room full of four- and five-year-olds as we painted, played with playdough, drew pictures, talked, sang, and learned about Jesus. I’ve discovered it sharing heart to heart talks with my kids and receiving big hugs and wet kisses from my grandson. And as I grow older, I am finding my sweet spot in those cherished places that spark memories and speak to my soul – walking along the sandy shores of the Outer Banks, taking in the expansive views of the Great Smoky Mountains and along the Blue Ridge Parkway, and visiting places that even from my childhood are precious to me.

 

But as my sweet spot places have grown and and changed, I realized that in all honesty, I have but one sweet spot. It is not so much where I am or what I am doing. In fact, my real sweet spot gives meaning to all the others. My sweet spot is found in my relationship with my Heavenly Father through Jesus Christ His Son. As I abide in Him, I am in my sweet spot, that “just right” place where I am accepted, complete, and can be the person God created me to be.  

 

David, the shepherd boy who became king, beautifully described this “sweet spot” in Psalm 23.

 

“The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want.”

 

He shepherds me. No matter what I am going through, I have a Father in whom I can trust. He loves and cares for me. He leads me and watches over me. He satisfies me.

 

“He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul. He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.”

 

When I am weary, He helps me find rest. When I am troubled, He gives me peace. When I am broken and undone, He restores me. Daily, He guides me and helps me to grow in His righteousness.  

 

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death. I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.”

 

He is with me – in all things at all times! When I am afraid, when I am anxious and worried, when I am totally undone – He is with me. His Presence comforts me.  

 

“You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over.”

 

I am secure and safe in Him. Even when surrounded by enemies, He gives me His peace. He pours out His Spirit upon me and blesses me with His Presence.

 

“Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

 

He is a good God! His mercy and love are unending. Even when I fail, He is merciful and gracious to me. He is with me now and forever!

 

Through the Presence of God’s Spirit within me, I am forever in my sweet spot. I can damage its sweetness when I fail to seek Him, or when I do not take to time to talk to Him in prayer. I can damage its sweetness when I cease to read His Word and listen to what He is saying to me. My sweet spot can become anything but sweet when I insist on my own way and fail to listen and obey Him. Yet I am reminded that just as God pursued the nation of Israel, He pursues you and me today. The prophet Jeremiah told the people of Israel that the the Lord had said: Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you. Again I will build you, and you shall be rebuilt” (Jeremiah 31:3-4a).

 

I love being in my sweet spot with my Heavenly Father.  I’m humbled by His love, thankful for His mercy and grace, amazed at the privilege of abiding in Him, and overjoyed that I can be in my sweet spot with Him forever! I pray that you know this sweet spot, too. He opens His arms to all who will come to Him. Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

