Posted by: glorifyhim1 | May 14, 2017

What I’d Like to Tell Mama

 

I always tend to get a little sentimental at Mother’s Day, especially since my Mama is no longer with us. Mama died about a week after Mother’s Day in 1994 – that’s 23 years ago. It is really hard to think that it has been 23 years since I have heard her voice, enjoyed her sweet laughter, or shared our heart to heart conversations. I miss her!

 

I have heard it said that while we never really get over the loss of a loved one, time helps heal the wound. I guess in some ways that is true. As we place one foot in front of the other and keep moving forward, the initial rawness and hurt of the wound seems to give way to all the cherished memories that flood our minds and hearts. As we remember and treasure each one, we hold our loved one close. They are always a part of us although they are no longer with us.

 

Even after 23 years, however, sometimes it can still be hard. There are those times when I just wish I could see her face, when I could just talk to her about everyday things, and when I could ask her tons and tons of questions. As I thought about this, I began to wonder, if I could, what would I like to tell Mama after all these years.

 

First of all, I’d like to tell Mama how much I always loved her. I probably didn’t tell her that near as much as I ought to have.

 

Next, I’d like to thank her for all she did for me. Again, I’m sure I didn’t say thank you enough.

 

And, oh how much I’d like to have another one of those heart to heart conversations, catching up on the last 23 years. I’d like to tell her about her grandkids and what they have been up to. I can just see her eyes sparkle as I announce that now she has a great-grandchild! I’d like to tell her about jobs and vacations, hard times and good times.  

 

But, probably, more than anything, I’d want to thank her for the way she loved me. She loved me unconditionally. Sometimes it was a tough love when she had to discipline or correct me. At other times it was a tender love when she saw my hurt or need. But I never had to question whether or not Mama loved me. She demonstrated it over and over as she watched over me, cared for me, taught me, and walked with me day by day. Her love was a precious gift on which I could always depend

 

If your Mom is still with you this Mother’s Day, perhaps you would like to tell her some of the same things I wish I could tell Mama. If so, why not tell her how much you love her? Thank her for all she does for you and the rest of the family. Give her a call or, if possible, sit with her on the porch, at the kitchen table, or even at her bedside and share a few precious moments. Let her know how much she means to you.  

 

I’m always touched that one of Jesus’ last actions as he hung on the cross was to make sure His Mom would be cared for. John tells us: When Jesus therefore saw His mother, and the disciple whom He loved standing by, He said to His mother, ‘Woman, behold your son!’ Then He said to the disciple, ‘Behold your mother!’ And from that hour that disciple took her to his own home” (John 19:26-27). What a sweet, tender moment! And what a beautiful example of love that Jesus showed to His mother.

 

I am so thankful for my Mama and for the difference her love made in my life. While I cannot tell her all the things I’d like to tell her on this Mother’s Day, I can joy in all the treasured memories and rejoice in the hope that one day I will see her again. Thank You, Jesus, for my Mama and her sweet love!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

