Posted by: glorifyhim1 | May 9, 2017

Has Jesus Got Me?

Has Jesus Got Me?

 

Recently, I was challenged to complete this sentence: “For me, to live is ________.” Immediately, Paul’s affirmation in Philippians 1:21 came to my mind: “For to me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” But just as quickly as I remembered this verse, I couldn’t help but think: Can I truthfully, wholeheartedly say: “For me, to live is Christ.” Has Jesus really got me?

 

I know that I have Jesus. I know that He has saved me and that His Spirit lives within me. I know that I can trust Him; that He is always with me; that He sees me, hears me, and knows me; and that He loves me in ways that I cannot begin to understand. Yes, I have Jesus; but does Jesus have me?

 

Does He have my mind and thoughts? Does He have the inmost desires of my heart, my attitudes, and my emotions? Have I yielded everything I am to Jesus, not only to save me, but day by day to change me, to make me more like Him? Does Jesus truly have my heart? Jesus, Himself, instructed: “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind” (Matthew 22:37).

 

When we truly love God with all our heart, soul, and mind, Jesus has us. It shows up in the way we talk, the things we do, and the way we treat others. When Jesus has us, the fruits that He bears through His Spirit in our lives are evident to all. There is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. When Jesus has us, there are other things that you don’t see – conceit, provoking one another, and envying one another. (See Galatians 5:22-26).

 

Paul told the Corinthians: “For the love of Christ compels us, because we judge thus: that if One died for all, then all died; and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again” (2 Corinthians 5:14-15). I have life because of Christ. He loved me enough to die for me. Can I love Him enough to live, not for myself, but for Him? Can I surrender all that I am to Him and seek His will and direction in my life?  Can I let go of preconceived notions and attitudes, what others think or say, and even my own dogged determination to do things my way, and allow God to shape me and mold me into the person He wants me to be? Has Jesus got me?

 

When I look at the turmoil, division, and hatred in our world today, I am reminded that Jesus, too, walked in a troubled world when He was on earth. He was tempted by Satan and pursued by both political and religious critics. He was wearied with crowds who constantly sought Him for what He could provide. He faced misunderstanding, unbelief, betrayal, and desertion. Yet, Scriptures tell us that Jesus regularly retreated to talk with His Father. And in spite of all the people and things that tried to derail Him from His mission, He persevered all the way to the cross where He secured our victory.

 

There are so many voices in our world today that try to crowd out Jesus. But when Jesus really has us, when we love Him and live for Him with all our hearts, souls, and minds, He will help us persevere, stay faithful, and complete the mission He has for each of us to do. Yielding to Jesus’ Lordship in our lives is a decision that we make everyday. It is daily dying to self and making the choice to live for Him. It is proclaiming both through our words and actions: “For me, to live is Christ!” Has Jesus got you?

 

“I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me” (Galatians 2:20).

Leave a Reply

Categories

