Posted by: glorifyhim1 | April 16, 2017

What Easter Tells Me

What Easter Tells Me

 

The world tells me daily that I’m not enough. I’m not good enough, smart enough, attractive enough, capable enough, or any other kind of enough. Easter tells me that Jesus is enough – and He makes me enough as I place my trust in Him.

 

“Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to his mercy he saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing of the Holy Ghost; Which he shed on us abundantly through Jesus Christ our Saviour;  That being justified by his grace, we should be made heirs according to the hope of eternal life.” (Titus 3:5-7)

Voices around me, including my own, remind me of how many times I fail. I sin, give in to temptation, and make wrong choices. Easter tells me that I have a Savior. Jesus died on the cross and paid the penalty for all my sin, forever. When I accept what Christ has done for me and place my trust in Him, I no longer have to walk in defeat. I am forgiven and freed from my bondage to sin, shame, and guilt.

 

“Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death.” (Romans 8:1-2)

Naysayers and non-believers point out the struggles, pain, and suffering that believers may endure. Easter tells me that Jesus is always with me, even in my most desperate times. He doesn’t just save me for eternity, He walks with me today. I can turn to Him and find comfort, courage, help, and an unending supply of grace and mercy for whatever need I face.

 

“Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.” (Hebrews 4:16)

 

Skeptics attempt to cast doubt on the resurrection of Jesus. Easter tells me that the tomb is empty! Not only was Jesus’ body not in the tomb, he was seen by eyewitnesses after His crucifixion. He showed His disciples the wounds on his hands and side. The Scriptures confirm that Jesus is alive.

 

“I am the Living One; I was dead, and now look, I am alive for ever and ever! And I hold the keys of death and Hades.” (Revelation 1:18)

 

Easter tells me that this world is not my home. The closer I draw to Jesus, the less at home I feel in this world because my heart and mind are fastened on things above.

 

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.” (Colossians 3:1-2)

 

As I think about all that Easter tells me, I am reminded that I have a risen Savior who loved me enough to die for me, who cares for me enough to never leave me or forsake me, and who through His death and resurrection allows me to live victoriously. Because of Christ, I can know peace in the midst of turmoil, joy in times of uncertainty, and a resounding hope even when facing trials and troubles. Easter tells me that Christ is my peace, my joy, my hope, and He has secured my victory now and forever! Thank You, God, for Easter!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

