Posted by: glorifyhim1 | March 2, 2017

When I Talk to God

When I Talk to God

Recently, my son called me from his car while my three-year-old grandson was riding in the backseat. He was using a hands-free receiver with the speaker on so Benji could talk to me, too. I am still smiling over the things that Benji had to intersperse into his Dad’s conversation.

“Hey GaGa. I got my stitches out.” (He had recently fell and cut his chin.)

“GaGa, I’m wearing my long socks.”

“My socks have a stripe on them.”

“I don’t have a dog anymore.” (He hasn’t had a dog for quite awhile.)

“I’m going to Target with my Dad.”

“I love you, GaGa.”

I love to talk with Benji even if I can’t always understand everything he has to say. And I love that he wants to talk to me and tell me what is going on in his world.

Later as I thought about the “important” things that Benji wanted to share with me, I realized that in his own, yet unintentional, way he had reminded me of how I should talk to God.

  • He talked about important things.
  • He talk about everyday things.
  • He talked about things he had on his mind.
  • He talked about what he was doing now.
  • He told me he loved me.

Benji talked about things that were on his mind and heart. Isn’t that the way we should talk to God?  Prayer is a conversation with our Heavenly Father, the One who made us, who saved us, who cares for us, who walks with us, who promises that He will never leave us or forsake us, and who loves us unconditionally!

Over the years I have learned that prayer is not just something that we mark off a daily checklist. It’s even more than those heartfelt words that tumble out when we face a great need. Prayer is an open line to our Heavenly Father. The Holy Spirit convicts us of sin and we can immediately ask our Father for forgiveness. We experience wonder or joy and lift our voices in praise and thanksgiving. Our hearts break over lost loved ones or deep needs of others and we can take those concerns straight to our Almighty God. When we are troubled, angry, weak, afraid, or lack understanding, God is always there and ready to hear our cry. Just as God told the prophet Jeremiah: “Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know” (Jeremiah 33:3).

At the same time, I also know that oftentimes I just cannot put into words what is on my heart. I have trouble praying publicly or leading others in prayer for this very reason. Yet as I come to God, I can have confidence that He can “hear” my heart. James 4:8a tells us: “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.” Paul told the Romans: “Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered” (Romans 8:26). The Spirit Himself will intercede for me when the words just won’t come.

Prayer is one of a believer’s greatest privileges. I want to talk to God just like my little grandson talks to me – eagerly, joyfully, openly, uninhibited, honestly, sharing everything on my heart and mind. I believe that this is the kind of prayer that would be pleasing to God. And as I talk to Him, may I always remember to say, “I love you, Father!” I hope that makes Him smile.

 

 

Responses

  1. Very sweet! Love the comparison, prayer doesn’t have to be difficult, but heartfelt as a child to their father.
    I don’t miss my church family as much when I read your blogs. Thank you!

    • Thank you, Sheila. We miss you and Roger. Hope you all are getting all settled in to your new home.


Leave a Reply

Categories

