Posted by: glorifyhim1 | January 31, 2017

But It Really IS About Me!

But It Really IS About Me!

Most of us have probably heard, or even told someone, “It’s not about you!” Both secular and Christian books have been written on the subject that life is not all about you and me. Even Jesus Himself told His disciples: “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me. For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it” (Matthew 16:24-25).

In all honesty, I understand that as a follower of Jesus I am called to deny myself, take up my cross, and follow Jesus. Yet as I read about Jesus in the Bible, and as I think about all that He has done for me, I am overwhelmed that to Jesus it really is about you and me. Jesus came to rescue us, to save us from our sins and to restore our relationship with the Heavenly Father. Jesus Himself stated: “For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save that which was lost” (Luke19:10).

Jesus came to earth for me. He died on the cross for me. He paid the sacrifice for my sins. Through His death and resurrection, He secured victory over sin and death – for me! Jesus paid the price and made the way for all who will repent of their sin, and place their faith and trust in Him.   Jesus said: “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me” (John 14:6). Because of Jesus, I can ….

  • be forgiven of my sins
  • know the Father and have fellowship with Him
  • have abundant life with purpose and meaning
  • know that I am never alone as His Spirit guides and helps me
  • look to the future with hope because He has already secured the victory and is preparing a place for me to live with Him forever

But what about me? What do I do in response to such love, to the mercy and grace He lavishes on me? This is when it really is all about me. What do I do with what I have been given? It basically comes down to two questions.

  • Am I faithful to Him? As the prophet Samuel instructed the nation of Israel: “Only fear the Lord, and serve Him in truth with all your heart; for consider what great things He has done for you” (1 Samuel 12:24).
  • Am I obedient to Him? Jesus told His followers to abide in Him: “As the Father loved Me, I also have loved you; abide in My love. If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love” (John 15:9-10).

Jesus calls each of His followers to serve Him in different ways. Am I being faithful and obedient? Jesus gave His life for you and me. How I respond is up to me. I pray that I will be more faithful and obedient to the One who loves me so – for it really is all about Him. He is my life!

 “Be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord”                          (1 Corinthians 15:58).

 

Responses

  1. Very good post, I am going to reblog this one for you.

    • Thank you. Appreciate your reblog.

  2. Good way to put it, we have to look at our life and ask our self-questions. We must strengthen our relationship with God daily

    • Thank you. Appreciate your reading and taking the time to comment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

