Posted by: glorifyhim1 | December 14, 2016

Christmas Tells of Jesus

Christmas Tells of Jesus

“And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth”

(John 1:14).img_1400

I love the treasured carols and hymns that we hear and sing during the Christmas season. But without fail, there is one simple little song entitled “Christmas Tells of Jesus” that always comes to my mind and heart every year. The words of this children’s song are few and simple. You can listen to it here.

This little song was included in the Sunday School curriculum for 4s and 5s many, many years ago. I loved that little song. The kids loved it as well. They could remember the words and it was easy to sing. I guess I sang that song with every subsequent group I taught and still today, I find myself humming that little tune at Christmas time. I wonder how many of the fours and fives, now older and perhaps with children of their own, still remember those simple words. I surely hope they do.

Christmas can mean lots of different things to all of us, but the one thing that makes all the other things mean anything at all is the simple truth that Jesus was born. We can have beautifully decorated homes, Christmas trees laden with gifts, and even fun celebrations with family and friends, but if Jesus had not been born, there would not be much to celebrate.

Why does Jesus’ birth make all the difference? As John tells us in John 1:14, the Word became flesh. This is the same Word that was in the very beginning. “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and Word was God” (John 1:1). This is the same Word that created the world and who also revealed God to man. “All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made. In Him was life, and the life was the light of men” (John 1:3-4). Jesus is this Word, the Son of God, who came to dwell among us.

But why did Jesus come?

  • He came to seek and save the lost (Luke 19:10).
  • He came to serve and to give His life as a ransom for many (Mark 10:45).
  • He came to give us life – abundant life (John 10:10).
  • He came to do the will of the Father (John 6:38-40).
  • He came to show us the Father (John 14:9).
  • He came to proclaim the kingdom of God (Luke 4:43).

Because Jesus came, I, too, can know the love of the Father and have fellowship with Him. I can know the joy of sins forgiven through Jesus. And I can also know the wonder of the Spirit dwelling within me, leading, guiding, and helping me. When I accept Jesus Christ as my Savior, I can have all of these things, but there is a question I must still ask myself. Is my life different because Jesus came? Can others see God’s love, Christ’s sacrifice, and the Spirit’s work in my life?

Do I love the Lord with all my heart, all my soul, and all my mind?

Do I love my neighbor as myself?

Do I love my enemies, those who disagree with me, and those whom I cannot understand? Do I pray for them?

Do I forgive others even when it is difficult to do so?

Do I judge others or do I spread their needs before the Father, too?

Do I follow the teachings of Christ or am I swayed by public opinion?

Do I seek to do the Father’s will, or is it easier to just do what I think is right?

Jesus taught and demonstrated love for others whether friends or enemies, outcasts or sinners. He offered forgiveness, but He walked in truth. He didn’t agree with sin, but sought to help and restore individuals trapped in sin. He extended grace and mercy to all.

Christmas tells us of this Jesus. This Christmas, may each of us who look to Him as our Savior, not only rejoice in His birth, but also show both Him and the world that oh, we love Him so!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

