Posted by: glorifyhim1 | November 9, 2016

When God Calls Us

When God Calls Us

Recently, I read the following verses from the book of Amos.

“I was no prophet, nor was I a son of a prophet, but I was a sheepbreeder and a tender of sycamore fruit. Then the Lord took me as I followed the flock, and Lord said to me, ‘Go, prophesy to My people Israel” (Amos 7:14-15).

I love these verses! The Message, in today’s vernacular, translates these two verses: “But Amos stood up to Amaziah: “I never set up to be a preacher, never had plans to be a preacher. I raised cattle and I pruned trees. Then God took me off the farm and said, ‘Go preach to my people Israel.’”

Amos was a simple man with a simple life. He raised sheep and cared for sycamore fruit. The Thomas Nelson Study Bible explains that the sycamore tree bears large numbers of small figs. In order for the fruit to ripen correctly, a small hole had to be poked in the bottom of each fruit’s skin. This was a slow, pain-staking process that required a laborer to pierce the bottom of each fruit as it hung on the tree. Sheepherders would often pierce fruit for landowners in exchange for grazing rights for their sheep. This was Amos’ life, tending his sheep and caring for the sycamore fruit.

Amos may have been a simple man living a simple life, but God had something special He wanted Amos to do. Amos may not have intended to “be a preacher,” but God said: “Go preach to my people Israel.” He sent Amos to prophesy coming judgment on Israel and to call them to repent and reform. Through Amos’ prophecies, He warned the leaders that if they refused to do so, their injustices against the poor and the weak would destroy the nation. Amos obeyed – even when facing opposition. And his defense was simple. God told me to do it. I’m doing it.

As I think about Amos, I’m reminded that God doesn’t just call the rich, famous, or even the most talented or gifted to do important things for Him. As the Lord told Samuel when looking upon Jesse’s sons to anoint one as king: “Do not look at his appearance or at his physical stature, because I have refused him. For the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” (1 Samuel 16:7). Yet when God does call us to some important task, what do we do? I have to stop and ask myself that question. Maybe you need to ask that question, too. You see, I know how I have sometimes responded.

  • I’ve questioned God. Do you mean me? You want me to do that?
  • I’ve postponed obedience. If I had been in Amos’ shoes, I might have said: “But God, I need to finish piercing this fruit first so my sheep can graze. I’ll go after I finish my work.
  • I’ve made excuses. I’m not gifted in that way. I’ve never done anything like that before.
  • I’ve offered substitutions. I can’t do that, but I’ll do this.
  • I’ve listened to others instead of God. What others think I should do is not always what God wants me to do.

When God called Amos to prophesy, he simply did what God told him to do.

One thing that I dearly love about Amos’ reply to Amaziah is his refusal to try to explain, justify, or defend who he was or what he said. It’s as if he said: “I am who I am, I do what I do, and this is what God said.” When God truly calls and takes hold of us, who we are or what we do doesn’t really matter. It’s all about God and whatever task He is calling us to do. He will prepare. He will equip. He will accomplish His purpose in us and through us. We just have to say yes.

“You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit—fruit that will last—and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you” (John 15:16).

Leave a Reply

Categories

