Posted by: glorifyhim1 | October 27, 2016

My Greatest Treasure

My Greatest Treasure

One of my favorite worship and praise songs is “You Are My All in All” written by musician Dennis Jernigan. You can listen to a recording of it here. Every time I hear this song, I am reminded afresh of the absolute wonder of who Jesus is and of what He has done for me! You see, I know Jesus. He has saved me. He has picked me up when I’ve been down. He has encouraged me when I’ve been afraid. He has been with me in both joy and sorrow. He is my strength, my help, and as the above song so wonderfully expresses, He is my All in all. Jesus is truly my greatest treasure. Yet, sometimes when I am in the midst of life’s struggles, I seem to forget who Jesus is. Instead of resting in who He is, I may worry, grow anxious, or fear. How about you? Do you forget sometimes, too?

Do we forget who Jesus is when –

  • We are worn out, tired, sick, or weak?
  • We have sinned and failed, yet again?
  • We are empty, drained, and ready to give up?
  • We are put down, overlooked, alone, or forgotten?

It is at those very times, more than ever, that we need to truly remember and grab hold of who Jesus is! Jesus paid the sacrifice for our sins when He was nailed to the cross. He died in your place and mine. But the story doesn’t end there. He arose from the grave and He ascended into heaven. Jesus is alive and is seated at the right hand of the Father.

Paul told the Ephesians about the greatness of God’s power “which He worked in Christ when He raised Him from the dead and seated Him at His right hand in the heavenly places, far above all principality and power and might and dominion, and every name that is named, not only in this age but also in that which is to come. And He put all things under His feet, and gave Him to be head over all things to the church, which is His body, the fullness of Him who fills all in all” (Ephesians 1:20-23). I belong to this Christ! No matter how difficult or bleak things may seem in this world, each of us who belong to Him can rest in the assurance of who Jesus is. He is –

  • Ruler over all. Jesus is seated above and all authority and power has been given to Him. No earthly power is greater than the One who reigns above.
  • Our deliverer. Through Jesus’ death, the devil no longer has power over death. (see Hebrews 2:14-15). When we place our trust in Christ, we receive eternal life, and are delivered from death.
  • Our advocate with the Father. He is forever making intercession for us before our Father in heaven (see Hebrews 7:25).
  • Our High Priest who can sympathize with us and understand our struggles (Hebrews 4:15). He, too, knew what it was like to live in a fallen world. He is compassionate and merciful to us. The writer of Hebrews urges us to “come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need” (Hebrews 4:16).
  • Our Shepherd. As Jesus told His disciples: “I am the good shepherd; and I know Mysheep, and am known by My own. As the Father knows Me, even so I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep” (John 10:14-15). Jesus laid down His life for us, continues to intercede for us, He will work in us to do His will and He will get us home.

With Jesus as ruler, our deliverer, our advocate, our High Priest, and our shepherd, we do not have to worry, fear, give up, become discouraged, or lose hope. Because of who Jesus is and what He did for us, we can not only survive, we can be conquerors with Christ! Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? As it is written: ‘For Your sake we are killed all day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.’  Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:35-39).

Jesus assured His earthly disciples of His Presence with them before He ascended into heaven. “…And lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age” (Matthew 28:20b). And He is with you and me, too, through His Holy Spirit. “And I (Jesus) will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever— the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him; but you know Him, for He dwells with you and will be in you” (John 14:16-17).

Jesus is my greatest Treasure. He is my All in all. I don’t want to forget who He is, what He did, and what He continues to do for me. I want to keep my eyes on Jesus, knowing that I am His. What more do I need to know?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

