Posted by: glorifyhim1 | October 5, 2016

A Loyal Heart

A Loyal Heart

Recently, while spending a few days with our son and his family, my husband and I went to pick up our grandson from his preschool. We inched forward in the car line, watching as workers led children to the waiting cars. Soon, I2016-04-02-16-38-12 spotted a teacher holding Benji’s hand and looking for our car. Although she didn’t know us that well, Benji knew who he was looking for as he searched for our familiar faces. It was such a sweet moment when he finally spotted us, his little anxious face breaking into a happy smile.

Most of us can relate to anxiously searching for someone’s face in a crowd. We can also identify with the relief we feel when that face is found. The same is true when we have problems or burdens and we’re desperate for someone to be there for us, to listen, to help, to understand. God surely knows that about us. Time and again in Scripture, He assures us that He is with us, that He will be with us, and that He will never, ever forsake us. And not only is He with us, He draws near to us. King David rejoiced: “The Lord is near to all who call upon Him, to all who call upon Him in truth” (Psalm 145:18). Scripture also assures us that He will act for us. Hanani, the seer, confronted King Asa of Judah for relying on the King of Israel rather than God. He reminded the king how God had previously delivered the Ethiopians and Lubim, a huge army with chariots and horsemen, into the king’s hand when the king had relied upon God. “For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to show Himself strong on behalf of those whose heart is loyal to Him” (2 Chronicles 16:9a).

Our God is great and mighty. He is the Creator, Sustainer, and Ruler of the universe. Yet this same God is with us; He draws near when we call upon Him; and He is ready to show Himself strong on our behalf. The Word is clear about God. He is a faithful, ever-present, loyal God. But what about you and me. Are our hearts loyal to Him? Do we seek Him with all our hearts? Loyalty can be defined as a strong feeling of support or allegiance. Synonyms for loyalty include faithfulness, devotion, and obedience. Are we faithful, devoted, and obedient to God?

  • Do we go to church or do we worship?
  • Do we check off Bible readings or do we seek to hear what God is saying to us?
  • Do we recite prayer requests or do we humble ourselves and earnestly pray? Do we praise God, thank Him, lay our petitions before Him, and seek His will?
  • Does God truly occupy first place in our lives, or just a corner of our hearts?
  • Do we trust God and follow His Word or do we make excuses and try to justify our disobedience?

Are our hearts loyal to God?

I don’t know about you, but I have often been guilty of each of the above more times than I would like to admit. How can I fail to be loyal to the One who loved me enough to die for me? A soldier may be loyal to his commanding officer out of duty and respect. An employee or hired worker may be loyal to his supervisor out of duty or even obligation. But I want to be loyal to my Lord and my Savior, not out of duty or obligation, but out of love for the One who loves me in spite of my shortcomings and failures, who loves me unconditionally, beyond understanding. I pray that I will faithfully follow this One who is always with me, who comes near when I need Him most, and whose eyes run to and fro, ready to act on my behalf. May I seek my Lord’s face with the same eagerness and anticipation as my little grandson searched for mine. And when God looks upon my heart, I pray that He will find a heart that is truly loyal to Him!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

