Posted by: glorifyhim1 | September 27, 2016

How Will You Vote?

How Will You Vote?

This is pretty much the question on most of our minds with election day drawing closer. The more I listen to all the political rhetoric however, the more difficult it becomes to try to make up my mind. I agree and disagree with both candidates on different issues. So, what do I do?

As I was reading my Bible earlier this week, however, the following Scripture got my attention. “Beware that you do not forget the Lord your God by not keeping His commandments, His judgments, and His statutes which I command you today” (Deuteronomy 8:11). Moses was speaking to the Israelites as they were standing at the entrance of Canaan, their promised land. Since Moses would not be entering the land with them, he took this opportunity to remind them of God’s laws and their responsibility to stay faithful.

As I thought about Moses’ warning to the Israelites, I thought about our country. Have we forgotten the Lord? Moses continued his warning:

“Lest –

  • when you have eaten and are full,
  • and have built beautiful houses and dwell in them,
  • and when your herds and your flocks multiply,
  • and your silver and gold are multiplied,
  • and all that you have is multiplied;
  • when your heart is lifted up,

and you forget the Lord your God” (verses 12-14a).

Moses realized the grave danger of the people forgetting God. “Then you say in your heart, ‘My power and the might of my hand have gained me this wealth’” (verse 17).

Has our plenty in this nation resulted in hearts lifted up? Have we become a proud people, boastful of all our accomplishments? When we study the platforms of the two major political parties, do we see evidence of a respect and honor for God’s commandments, His judgments, and His statutes? Or do we see, in some instances, an outright defiance to the Word of God?

 

Moses encouraged the people to remember ….

  • “who brought you out of the land of Egypt, from the house of bondage,
  • who led you through that great and terrible wilderness, in which were fiery serpents and scorpions and thirsty land where there was no water;
  • who brought water for you out of the flinty rock;
  • who fed you in the wilderness with manna, which your fathers did not know,

that He might humble you and that He might test you, to do you good in the end” (verses 14b-16).

Moses told the Israelites to remember God who brought them out of bondage, who led and protected them, and who did the impossible time and again as he performed miracles on the behalf of His people. When we forget God and what He has done, we place our trust in ourselves instead of in the Almighty God.

As I think about the coming election, I remind myself that there is a God I can trust. I am not going to place my trust in any political party or in any candidate. I am going to believe in the God who saved me, who has walked with me in good times and hard times, and who has never left me nor forsaken me. Things in our country may look dreadfully worrisome now, but in whom are we trusting? Let us place our trust in Almighty God, commit ourselves to seeking His guidance as we decide how to cast our votes, and let us…..

  • Pray fervently for our nation, pleading for His mercy upon a nation who has forgotten Him.
  • Study the platforms for both political parties and look for evidence of stances that honor God’s commandments and statutes.
  • Ask God for wisdom and discernment in making our decisions.

The Psalmist tells us: “And those who know Your name will put their trust in You; for You, Lord, have not forsaken those who seek You” (Psalm 9:10). Let us not forget the Lord, but seek Him, trust Him, and stay faithful to Him in all that we do. The rest is up to God!

Leave a Reply

Categories

