Posted by: glorifyhim1 | September 21, 2016

A Place to Dwell

A Place to Dwell

Anyone who truly knows me surely knows one thing about me – I am definitely a “homebody!” I would rather be at home than anywhere else in the world. Oh, I enjoy going places and seeing new things. There are even those places that hold a special place in my heart that I can return to over and over like the sandy beaches of North Carolina’s Outer Banks or the beautiful, mist-shrouded Smoky Mountains with its virgin forests and clear, mountain streams. But as much as I love those places, I’m always ready to get back home.

Home is that special place where I can just be me. It is a place of acceptance, of love, even when I may not necessarily deserve it. Home is where my “stuff” is and where a little box of treasured memories is packed away. Home is the comforting smell of dinner cooking, a soft breeze blowing through an open window, and an old sweet dog sleeping on the couch. It is a precious place where neatly framed pictures of family grace walls and shelves and where often is heard: “Remember when!” Home is where little feet race to catch big dreams and where older, weary feet find a place of rest. Home is all of this and so much more!

As special as home is to me, however, I know that even in our homes, we can have problems and struggles. We may face serious illnesses, loss of loved ones, relationship issues, and many other problems that can make life tough. Instead of being a place of refuge and encouragement, our homes, too, can become difficult and trying places. So, what do we do? Where do we go when it seems there is nowhere to go? Where do we go when we’re burdened, tired, weak, and discouraged? I assure you. There is a place for us to dwell!

The psalmist tells us of this place. “He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty” (Psalm 91:1). The secret place most likely refers to the Holy of Holies, the inner chamber of the sanctuary in the temple. It was separated from the outer chamber by a veil and was reserved for the presence of God. Only the high priest could enter the Holy of Holies on the Day of Atonement. Under the new covenant, however, all believers have access to the Father through Jesus’ sacrificial death on the cross. We are told that when Jesus died, the veil separating the Holy of Holies from the outer chamber was torn in half from the top to the bottom. Because of Jesus’ sacrificial death, we can boldly come into that secret place of God’s gracious presence. “Therefore, brethren, having boldness to enter the Holiest by the blood of Jesus20 by a new and living way which He consecrated for us, through the veil, that is, His flesh, 21 and having a High Priest over the house of God, 22 let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water” (Hebrews 10:19-22).

It is in that secret place where we can dwell. How do we dwell in God’s presence? We settle down with Him. We place our faith and trust in Him. I especially like one of the definitions for dwell shown in the KJV Dictionary: “to continue; to be fixed in attention; to hang upon with fondness.” In other words, we seek Him, talk with Him, and enjoy His presence. When all about us may be falling apart, He is our refuge, the One with whom our hearts can safely dwell. We are at home with Him.

Note that the Psalmist also stated that the one who dwells in that secret place “shall abide under the very shadow of the Almighty God!” I cannot even comprehend the wonder of God Himself covering me with His shadow. He shelters me, protects me, and keeps His eyes on me. And there is no way I can be separated from Him. Shadows go with you wherever you go. So, even when I’m going through difficulties or hard things, He has me covered!

I’m so thankful that I can know the joy and wonder of dwelling in God’s presence. How I yearn to know Him better and better. Perhaps, you do, too. Jesus has already made the way for us. Accept what Jesus has done and let us boldly come into that secret place – a place for us to dwell!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

