Posted by: glorifyhim1 | August 24, 2016

GaGa’s Beach House

GaGa’s Beach HouseIMG_20160710_082527

A few weeks ago, our family spent a week together at the beach. For some reason, our little grandson was determined that the place we rented for the week was GaGa’s house. Each time he said something about being at GaGa’s house, we would explain that this was not GaGa’s house. As he continued, however, I finally tried to help him understand. “Benji, this is not GaGa’s house. Remember when you visit GaGa and PaPa in the mountains. You run under the big trees in the yard and throw rocks in the little creek. That’s GaGa and PaPa’s house. This is just a beach house where we all come for vacation.” He bounded off, seeming to understand. Soon, however, I heard him remark how much he liked GaGa’s beach house! We gave up!

Later as I thought about Benji and the beach house, I think I realized why he kept thinking he was at GaGa’s house. We live about two and a half hours away from Benji. Anytime he is in the car for a lengthy time, he thinks he’s going to GaGa and PaPa’s. When they arrived at the beach, there was GaGa and PaPa. So, naturally, to a 2-1/2 year old, he must be at GaGa’s house!

In other words, GaGa’s house, whether at the beach or in the mountains, is where GaGa is! And as God so often does, He used Benji’s simple remark to remind me of an important spiritual truth: Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? (1 Corinthians 6:19). God dwells within all true believers through His Spirit! I have to ask myself: “When others come into my presence, do they know God is in the house?” Can others see God in me? Can they glimpse even a small measure of His awesome glory in my words or in my actions?

  • Do I talk about Him? Sing about Him? Praise His name?
  • Do I honor Him in all that I do? In the way I work? In the things I say? In my attitude?
  • Do I do what’s right? Obey His Word? Follow His teachings?
  • Do I give Him credit for every blessing? For every success? For every way He rescues me, lifts me up, comforts me, and walks with me?
  • Do I use every opportunity to tell someone about Him?

 

Jesus told His disciples: “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven” (Matthew 5:16). Paul taught the Corinthians: “Therefore, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God” (1 Corinthians 10:31). When we put God first in our lives and seek to live for Him, others are going to see some measure of His glory. They will know that the Spirit of God is at home in you and me.

A few weeks after returning home, our son sent a picture of Benji pointing to some plastic toy golf carts on a store shelf. “We ride these at GaGa’s beach house,” he had proudly announced. As I smile about this, I realize that, in time, Benji will learn that GaGa doesn’t really have a beach house – and I’m pretty sure, I never will. But much more than that, I pray that wherever he may be with GaGa, He sees evidence of God dwelling in me. And I pray that one day he will know the One who is at home in GaGa’s heart and that He will love Him and walk with Him all of his days. That will be a sweet taste of God’s glory to this GaGa!

 

 

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing. It is a joy to try to live out the Christian life in front of our grandchildren and great-grands. What a privilege God has given us to live long enough to have this opportunity. Love to you and yours, Belvin and Barbara Cox

    • Thank you, Barbara. Know that you and Belvin have enjoyed every minute with your grands and great-grands. What a privilege, indeed! And what a blessing I know you are to them! Love to you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

