Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 20, 2016

“I ‘Git’ It!”

“I ‘Git’ It!”

Last week was family vacation time. This year our crew had increased by two little boys – a six-week old infant and a 2-1/2-year-old. Both are new foster children in my son and daughter-in-law’s home. Getting to love on the baby and getting to know the 2-1/2-year-old were added bonuses to our week. Throughout the week, there was one phrase the 2-1/2-year-old voiced repeatedly. Whether it was in response to something dropped on the floor, a ball being carried down the beach by the wind, or a bird that swooped over us, he would run to retrieve or catch whatever and scream: “I ‘git’ it!” I can’t even type those words now without smiling as I remember that little fellow running with all his might and screaming: “I ‘git’ it!”

Recently, I read the story of a paralytic in Mark 2:1-12. Jesus was in Capernaum, inside a house, preaching the Word. Many people gathered to hear Him teach, so many that even the door was blocked. No one else could enter the house. Then came four men carrying a paralytic hoping to get him inside for Jesus to heal him. I love what happened next. The four men didn’t apologize to their friend and carry him back home. They didn’t beg for people to move so they could carry their friend inside. No, they went straight to work. They climbed to the top of the house, uncovered the roof above where Jesus was, and carefully lowered the bed on which the paralytic lay – right in front of the only one who could help him – Jesus. I can almost hear each of the excited men calling as they went to work: “I ‘git’ it!”

When Jesus saw the four man peeking through the hole they had just made, He saw more than four men working together to help their friend. He saw faith! Their eagerness, willingness, determination to get their friend to Jesus demonstrated an unwavering faith in who Jesus was and in what He could do!

I wonder: Does Jesus see my faith? Does He see my faith when things are hard? When I’m mixed-up or confused? When I’m worried or afraid? Does He see my faith when there doesn’t seem to be an answer? When the way is not clear? Does He see my faith when I bring the needs of others before Him? Do I approach Him, believing, and trusting in who He is and what He can do in each and every situation?  Does Jesus see my faith?

I pray that Jesus can see my faith just as He saw the faith of those four men as they eagerly, willingly, and with much determination brought their friend to Jesus. May He see me ready and willing to do whatever I can to help others see Jesus, too. And like my new little friend, I might even eagerly exclaim: “I ‘git’ it! I ‘git’ it!”

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

