Posted by: glorifyhim1 | June 28, 2016

Rest for My Soul

Rest for My Soul

As I grow older, I am discovering that proper rest is not just a luxury. It is an absolute necessity. When I try to keep going when I need to take a break, I rarely do my best and I often create more work because of my weariness or lack of concentration. I am learning that moments of rest throughout my day can actually help me accomplish more and do things better.

Yet in addition to physical rest, there is also another rest that I crave. This rest is not satisfied by merely stopping for a few minutes to prop my feet up or to drink a glass of water. I like to think of this other rest as soul rest. You see, sometimes it is our very souls that become tired and weary, more so than our physical bodies. Most of us grapple daily with various matters from relationship issues or financial struggles, to job worries or health problems. Likewise, there are myriad concerns that surround us in our fallen world. There is no shortage of reasons for men and women to fear and worry. Just consider the current political climate, persecution of Christians around the world, mass shootings and gun violence, and the threats of ISIS and others, to name just a few. There is also much to mourn as we see our own nation making decisions that do not value human life, that celebrate rights of individuals over moral responsibility, and that pass laws that stand in opposition to the very Word of God. Oh how I regularly need rest for my soul! Perhaps you do, too.

The good news is that Jesus knows that about us. He knew it about His disciples and early followers when He was on earth. Life was surely not easy for believers then either. In fact, Matthew recounts how Jesus issued a rebuke to the cities of Chorazin, Bethsaida, and Capernaum because although they saw His mighty works, they did not repent (see Matthew 11:20-24). Jesus issued a promise, however, to all who would come to Him:  “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls” (Matthew 11:28-29).

I have always loved this Bible verse. Nothing can bring peace to my heart like coming to Jesus and just pouring out all that is on my heart and mind. And when I take His yoke upon me and learn from Him, He assures me that I will find rest for my soul. Unlike worldly yokes that enslave us, when we place our faith and trust in Jesus and become yoked to Him, we discover the truth of Jesus’ words: “For My yoke is easy and My burden is light” (Matthew11:30). The yoke of Jesus frees us from the bondage of sin, oppression, shame, worry, fear, failure…..whatever we have become yoked to in this fallen world; then in Him we find help, hope, courage, strength…… and rest! Soul rest!

Nothing or no one can satisfy our need for soul rest but Jesus. Only He can take all our struggles and issues, all our fears and worries, all our losses and brokenness, and even in the midst of them fill us with Himself and give us rest for our souls! If you need soul rest, I invite you to answer Jesus’ invitation: “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls” (Matthew 11:28-29).

 

 

“My soul shall make its boast in the Lord. Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who trusts in Him!”

(Psalm 34:2a,8)

Leave a Reply

Categories

