Posted by: glorifyhim1 | March 21, 2016

A Time to Stop

A Time to Stop

 Recently, my husband and I had the privilege of spending a couple of days with our 2-1/2 year old grandson. We were alone with him for most of the day and my oh my, how much I had forgotten what it was like to keep up with such unbridled, non-stop energy. From the time his tiny little feet hit the floor until he was corralled into bed for naptime or bedtime, he was busy – from playing with trains and tracks to building with blocks, from playing “bakketball” to flying airplanes or pushing cars, from drawing and coloring to singing and dancing, from leading GaGa on a chase around the living room to catch him and change his diaper to finally, snuggling up close to look at pictures and read books!

But as busy as our grandson stayed, he taught me something during these couple of days about stopping. You see, in my own way, I’m a lot like my grandson. While I may not run helter skelter or have the energy to keep at it non-stop, I pretty much stay busy. I clean, I cook, I plan, I shop. I pay bills, I write, I read, I tackle special projects. And even when I sit down in the evening, it’s hard for me to just “sit” without doing something – even if it is just playing Everyword or working a Sudoku. But my grandson showed me that there is a time to really, completely, totally stop from all the busyness and capture a blessing in the present moment.

Even in the midst of all his busyness, my grandson was fully engaged with all of his senses. He stopped me on our morning walk to see a bird that just flew out of a nearby tree. He stopped in the middle of his coloring and drawing to watch the ducks swimming across the pond. He looked in your eyes when you talked to him and he eagerly sought for you to repeat every word he said to make sure you understood what he was saying. In other words, he was fully present in everything he did. He innately seemed to know when to stop and take time to see, hear, and become fully engaged in the present moment.

Unfortunately, I don’t always do that. I say “Uh…uh” while cooking dinner, then later think, now what did he say? I do one thing while thinking about the next thing I need to do. I become so engrossed in my own thoughts that I fail to see the beautiful bluebird in the window or hear the soft cooing of the dove. I can even sit on my front porch and miss the restful sound of the little creek beside our house because I’m too caught up in my own thoughts or the word or numbers game that keeps both my mind and fingers busy. So, while my body may stop throughout the day, my mind stays in overdrive and rarely stops.

My grandson reminded me that today is a precious gift to be spent wisely. Or as the Psalmist put it: “This is the day the Lord has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it” (Psalm 118:24). In the midst of our hustle-bustle activity and the anxieties and worries we may face each day, the value of today can be easily overlooked. We miss the present and become disengaged with those around us because our minds have camped out on work, worry, or some other activity to escape the anxiety we may feel.

How do we stop and grab hold of the present moment, today? Scripture reminds us of a few things we can do.

  1. Seek God first.

“Be still, and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10a).

  1. Surrender each day to Him.

“Cause me to hear Your lovingkindness in the morning,
For in You do I trust;
Cause me to know the way in which I should walk,
For I lift up my soul to You”
(Psalm 143:8).

  1. Rejoice and be thankful.

“Rejoice in the Lord, you righteous, And give thanks at the remembrance of His holy name (Psalm 97:12).

As we keep our eyes on our Father and trust Him in every detail of our day, we let go of all those things that hinder us from fully engaging in whatever today holds. As we rejoice in Him, thank Him for His goodness, and enjoy His presence, we may just discover that we, too, can stop in the midst of our daily routines and enjoy the blessings that flow freely from our Father’s hands. We may even be able to lift our eyes long enough to look straight into someone else’s eyes and really listen to what they have to say.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

