Posted by: glorifyhim1 | March 4, 2016

A Great Faith

A Great Faith

“Little faith will take your soul to heaven, but great faith will bring heaven to your soul.” – Charles Spurgeon

(Today, March 4, is the anniversary of our first daughter’s birth, but also her death, as she died shortly before birth. This was also the beginning of a pilgrimage for me as I turned to my Heavenly Father, searching for answers and trying to understand our great loss. Ultimately, I discovered that sometimes there just are no answers – at least on this side of eternity – but there is a Father who understands. He took my mustard seed of faith, loved me, comforted me, and began to grow me. Today, I can rejoice, knowing that one day I will see my daughter again  And I can also rejoice in my Heavenly Father who daily brings a little bit of heaven to my ever-thirsting soul.)

When I read the above quotation, I couldn’t help but think about my own walk of faith through the years. It has been quite a journey from that very first step of faith when I placed my trust in Jesus, to where I am today. Like most believers, I have had my share of doubts and questions. I’ve wrestled and struggled with things I didn’t understand. But in and through those times, I’ve also learned a few things. Perhaps the old hymn, “Through It All” says it best. “Through it all, through it all, I’ve learned to trust in Jesus, I’ve learned to trust in God; through it all, through it all, I’ve learned to depend upon His Word.”

My struggles have taught me that I need to seek my Heavenly Father first of all. I may not know why – I may never know why – I’m going through whatever difficulty I may be facing, but I do know who is in control. I know that my God loves me and that nothing can separate me from His love (Romans 8:35-39). I know that He is good (Psalm 86:5) and that He will never leave me or forsake me (Hebrews 13:5). I know that He is all-powerful and able to do far more than I can even ask or think (Ephesians 3:20). And I also know that no matter how bleak the future may look, the best is yet to come (Revelation 21:4). Scripture confirms that whatever my need, I can safely trust it to my Heavenly Father.

Sometimes through the years, my faith has been small. Yet Jesus taught His disciples: “If you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you” (Matthew 17:20b).  During these times, I’ve learned that Jesus welcomes me, even when my faith is small, and that He stretches me and grows me as He reveals more of Himself and His ways to me. And the more I experience His Presence and His work in my life, the more I can trust Him – and the more my faith grows.

My faith has grown a lot since my first steps of faith so many years ago, but God has shown Himself merciful, gracious, and ever faithful. Like Charles Spurgeon’s quote above, those early steps of floundering faith may have secured me a place in heaven, but it is daily walking by faith, not sight (see 2 Corinthians 5:7), that ultimately brings heaven to my soul. Psalm 23 expresses it best.

The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell
[a] in the house of the Lord
Forever.

A great faith brings heaven to a believer’s soul as he or she finds rest, direction, restoration, courage, comfort, goodness, and mercy in the Presence of the Father. Oh, how I want to have a great faith! Don’t you?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

