Posted by: glorifyhim1 | February 2, 2016

What If?

What If?

12644969_10207292585146296_4484987004759121950_n

My husband just returned from a disaster relief work trip with a group from our church. They went to a small area that had been devastated from the extreme flooding in South Carolina that occurred near the end of last year. As he filled me in on all the work they did, one thing, in particular, perked my ears – and my heart.

One of the jobs they completed was putting a porch on the home of an elderly lady. The lady was absolutely overjoyed at what they did, even taking a snapshot of the group and saying she would never forget them. But my husband also overheard another simple remark she made: “I’m so glad I have a porch to sweep!”

I was instantly convicted. How many times have I complained to myself, even if not to others, that I had to sweep my porch for the umpteenth time? But instead of complaining, this dear lady was rejoicing that she had a porch to take care of.

It made me think. What if, instead of focusing on the ever-draining demands that weary me, I kept my eyes on the blessing. What if, instead of focusing on what’s wrong, I rejoiced over what’s right? What if, even in my most mundane days, I exulted in a God who loves me and has His eyes upon me?

The Psalmist declares: “O, give thanks to the Lord, for He is good! For His mercy endures forever” (Psalm 107:1). The ESV translates the last half of that verse, “for His steadfast love endures forever!” A steadfast love is resolute and unwavering, faithful and reliable.

This verse reminds me that my God’s love for me never wavers. He loves me when I’m at my best and when I’m at my worst. He loves me when I’m showered with blessings and when I’m burdened with troubles or difficulties. And even when I am struggling and things really aren’t good, I know that God is! So, what if I chose to keep my eyes on Him, trust Him in all things, and rest in His steadfast love? Then surely, I, too, could joyfully say: “I’m so glad I have a porch to sweep!”

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

