Posted by: glorifyhim1 | January 15, 2016

Becoming New

Becoming New!

Cleaning house is one my “have-to-do” chores, not necessarily one of my favorites. Yet, like it or not, it has to be done. Through the years, I’ve developed a pretty good routine for trying to make sure the bathrooms are cleaned, the furniture dusted, and the floors vacuumed and mopped. But, as we all know, there are those times when there just isn’t time! And that’s for sure when company comes!

Recently, I was in one of my mad dashes to make the house a little more presentable. I had already vacuumed and put the vacuum away and my Bona mop and I were “swiffering” through the house at lightning speed when we came upon a little pile of dirt that I had somehow missed with the vacuum – or someone (who will remain nameless), or this someone’s four-legged best friends,  had been through since I had vacuumed. Either way, I was in a hurry. So, I just mopped through that little bit of dirt, cleaned it up, and spread it around a bit. No one would ever know!

Well, for sure, no one ever knew. But, I knew! And while that little bit of dirt in my house didn’t make too much difference – especially to the one who will remain nameless and his trusty best friends – it made me think about sin in my life. Yes, sin!

How often do I face sin in my life a lot that little pile of dirt? I may try to ignore it and pretend it’s not there. Or I may grow comfortable with it and keep walking around in it. Perhaps I may try to clean it up a bit, hoping to make it a little shinier and prettier. And then again, I may try to hide it so that no one will ever know!

Sin, however, is not something for us to ignore or excuse. It is not something to try to dress up or cover up. Our sin is serious – not something to be laughed about, excused, or covered up. Your sin and my sin cost Jesus His life. “He Himself bore our sins in His body on the tree, so that, having died to sins, we might live for righteousness; you have been healed by His wounds. For you were like sheep going astray, but you have returned to the Shepherd and Guardian of your souls” (1 Peter 2:24-25).

When we confess and repent of our sins and place our faith in Christ, He makes us new. “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new” (2 Corinthians 5:17). He takes our sin and God grants His righteousness to us (see Romans 3:22-23). We’re not “like new” or “almost new.” We are new!

And then He equips us with the Holy Spirit to live within us and to help us become more like Jesus. “But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you” (John 14:26).  The Spirit guides us (John 16:13), empowers us (Micah 3:8), helps us (John 14:16-26), gives us joy (Romans 14:17), gives discernment (1 Corinthians 2:10-16), bears fruit (Gal. 5:22-23), gives comfort (Acts 9:31), and reveals the things of God (1 Corinthians 2:10,13). He continues to make us new!

When I think of all that Christ has done for me, I truly want to please Him. I can no longer be content with my sins. Unlike that little pile of dirt in my floor, I don’t want to ignore it, try to make it a little prettier, or cover it up. I want to talk to God about it, to confess it, and turn away from it so I can keep on becoming more like the One who died for me. The Bible assures us that our God is faithful. “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:9). I’m so thankful that for a God who forgives, cleanses, and keeps on making me new!

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Beautiful! Thank you for sharing 🙂

    • Thanks, Emily. Appreciate your reading!

  2. Wonderful message there. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thank you. Appreciate your reading!


Leave a Reply

Categories

