Posted by: glorifyhim1 | January 1, 2016

An Abiding Hope

An Abiding Hope

As many of you know, my little two-year-old grandson was recently hospitalized for a couple of days with complications from RSV. Although he was sick, coughing, having difficulty breathing, and overall pretty miserable, my son and daughter-in-law told me that he would repeatedly say “all done” and “down” as he begged to get out of the bed. However, as he lay hooked up to monitors and IV, there was little possibility of his getting down. He may have been “all done” with what was going on, but unfortunately, he wasn’t quite through.

Have you ever felt like my grandson? I know I have. Sometimes, I’ve just been through with whatever battles or decisions I was struggling with and I have felt like screaming “I’m all done!” Yet, just as my grandson had to stay in bed and follow the doctor’s instructions, sometimes we, too, discover that no matter how much we feel “all done,” we’re just not through. Some battles we just have to fight; some struggles we just have to endure; some decisions we just have to face. And we’re not all done until we’ve fought, endured, and faced them.

So what do we do when we are in the midst of our struggles? Paul tells us in Romans 12:12 that we should “rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.” Even in our difficulties we can rejoice – not because of what we’re going through – but because of the One who in whom we trust. As David cried: “And now, Lord, what do I wait for? My hope is in You” (Psalm 39:7). God is our Hope. He made us; He knows everything about us; He loves us with an unfathomable love; and He is with us in all things. As He spoke through the prophet Isaiah: “Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand” (Isaiah 41:10). Our lives are in His hand and our battles ultimately belong to Him. We can rejoice because of the hope we have in the Lord our God. We can be patient in tribulation as we trust our battles to Him. And as we constantly pray and seek Him, we find peace and joy in His Presence.

Yes, sometimes, when we’re in the middle of our struggles, we may feel like we’re “all done.” But in Christ we can have hope – an abiding hope – that blesses us with joy, patience, and peace in His Presence. Wishing you this abiding hope in 2016!

Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

(Romans 15:13)

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

