Posted by: glorifyhim1 | December 16, 2015

Oh, How I Need Christmas!

Oh, How I Need Christmas!

I have always loved Christmas! I love decorating the tree, singing Christmas carols, wrapping presents, and doing all the extra cooking and baking. I love seeing the beautiful Christmas lights and the wonder and excitement on a small child’s face. And I never tire of hearing the story of that very first Christmas when Jesus was born.

But this Christmas, there is much turmoil in our nation and world. Protests and demonstrations over a wide range of issues have marked much of 2015 and acts of terrorism have practically the whole world on alert. Even in our own country, terrorist activities have killed, maimed, threatened our freedom, and created much worry and fear.  A recent Meet the Press poll discovered that the number one concern for Americans now is national security and terrorism. Somehow, stringing lights and wrapping presents while listening to reports of 14 people being tragically killed in a workplace gathering, seem strangely out of place. But, even in my own life I’ve discovered that it is in the darkest of times that I really need Christmas.

The troubles and worries we face today may seem far removed from that quiet hillside where the angels appeared to the shepherds with the good news of Jesus’ birth. Yet, historians remind us that the world into which Jesus was born was also an unsettled, fearful place.

At the time of Jesus’ birth, the people of God were under the oppressive rule of Rome. In addition, factions within Israel – the Pharisees, Sadducees, Essenes, and Zealots – were competing and struggling with one another. Furthermore, it had been over four centuries since the nation of Israel had heard the word of God with Malachi being the last inspired prophet to speak. It was into that world of oppression, struggle, fear, and uncertainty that Jesus was born on that very first Christmas. And on a quiet night in Bethlehem, Mary “brought forth her firstborn Son, and wrapped Him in swaddling cloths, and laid Him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn” (Luke 2:7). Jesus came.

On that first Christmas, Jesus came into a world that was filled with fear and uncertainty and He gave people a reason for hope. Jesus offers us the same hope in the midst of our troubled world today. Christmas reminds us that Jesus came …..

  • To be our Savior

“For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save that which was lost” (Luke 19:10).

  • To be our Light

“I have come as a light into the world, that whoever believes in Me should not abide in darkness” (John 12:46).

  • To give us life

“I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly” (John 10:10b).

  • To grant us peace with God

“Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ,  through whom also we have access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God” (Romans 5:1-2).

More than ever, we need Jesus!

Jesus still extends His invitation to all who will receive Him. “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me” (Revelation 3:20).

So, as I listen to the news reports of our troubled nation and world, I’ll still put up my tree, string the lights, and celebrate the One who came on that first Christmas, the only One who holds the answer to the troubles in our world. I’ll celebrate Christmas and rejoice as I remember the words that Jesus Himself spoke: “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also” (John 14:1-3).

Oh, how I need Christmas! Maybe, you need Christmas, too!

 

But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, to those who believe in His name: who were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.

(John 1:12-13)

 

 

Responses

  1. Great Post

  2. Thank you. Appreciate you reading this post.

  3. good stuff.

  4. Thank you. Appreciate your reading and commenting.


Leave a Reply

Categories

