Posted by: glorifyhim1 | November 16, 2015

Fearing or Trusting

 

Fearing Or Trusting

This morning as I was sweeping off my porch, I had to stop and smile.

This is  what I saw ….

IMG_1149

and this ….

IMG_1151              IMG_1153

 

 

 

 

 

and this …

 

 

 

 

 

There were two black walnuts carefully hidden behind my rocking chair cushions and another placed on the banister beside a bottle of bubble solution which was left over from this summer. I had to smile because I knew exactly what my husband would say: “Those doggone squirrels! They make such a mess!” And they do! But I would counter: “But, they’re so cute, and they’re working hard!” And they are! So, instead of tossing the walnuts off the porch which I probably should have done, I left them where they were and I’ll watch to see when the squirrels return to find them. And they will!

But I think God used those squirrels to remind me of something this morning. You know it is so easy to allow our worries, struggles, and difficult days to consume our thoughts. And the more we focus on the problems, the less we trust in our Savior. But what do the squirrels do? They just keep on working. I glanced out in the field in front of our house and the squirrels were bouncing all over the place, digging and hiding nuts and other treasures. Occasionally, they would sit back on their little haunches and enjoy some tidbit they had discovered that was just too good to put away for later. And as I watched the crows and other birds join them, I was reminded of the following Scripture.

“Are not two sparrows sold for a copper coin? And not one of them falls to the ground apart from your Father’s will. But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.”

(Matthew 10:29-31)

Just as God knows about those squirrels and birds, He knows about you and me. He knows what we’re facing today, and He tells us: “Do not fear.” While there is much to fear in our world today, there is also a God who knows us, loves us, cares for us, and values us more than we can ever comprehend. He offers us a secret place where we can find refuge even when bad things happen. As the Psalmist declares: He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the Lord,He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust’” (Psalm 91:1-2).  

As I finished sweeping my porch, I left the walnuts where they were. In some way, they make me think of myself and the things I do. I pray that I will fear less and trust God more. I pray that as I let go of my worries and fears, I’ll be more able to keep on working, doing the things I know to do just as those busy squirrels do. None of us know what tomorrow may bring, but when we place our trust in Jesus, we can dwell in the secret place of the Most High God and abide under His shadow. The Lord Himself will be our refuge and fortress. With that assurance, may we all keep working until Christ returns – and one day He will!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

