Posted by: glorifyhim1 | October 6, 2015

I Have a Problem

I Have a Problem

I have a problem. My problem is like the shadow in the well-known poem by Robert Louis Stevenson: “I have a little shadow that goes in and out with me, and what can be the use of him is more than I can see.” My problem is like that shadow. It’s always with me, but I can’t get rid of it because the problem is me!

I have a “me” problem and chances are, you may have a “me” problem, too. What is a “me” problem? It is the tendency to evaluate situations and make decisions according to what I think, how I see things, what I understand, and what I can do. But as Proverbs 21:2a warns: “Every way of a man is right in his own eyes, but the Lord weighs the hearts.”

God created us and gave us minds that can think, plan, figure things out, and make decisions. The choice Eve made in the garden was in direct disobedience to what God had told her, yet the Bible tells us that she “saw that the tree was good for food, that it was pleasant to the eyes, and a tree desirable to make one wise” (Genesis 3:6). She relied on what seemed right to her. Do we not do the same thing every day? Just as the proverb above warns, in our own eyes, we think we are right. We make decisions, form opinions, and act on what we think rather than on what God says.

Time and time again, verses in Scripture remind us to trust and rely on God.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding” (Proverbs 3:5).

“Commit your way to the Lord, trust also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass” (Psalm 37:5).

These two Scriptures and many others like them remind us that just because it seems right to us, that does not mean it is necessarily right. When we trust God instead of relying on our own understanding, we weigh every thought and decision against the word of God. We commit everything to Him, seeking Him first above all things.

I am learning that when I trust God rather than relying on myself, God takes over.

  • He helps me to worry less and seek Him more.
  • He helps me to fear less and to believe Him more.
  • He helps me to replace despair and discouragement with peace and hope.
  • He helps me to let go of anger and bitterness and to love and pray for others.

When I place my faith and trust in God, He does in me, for me, and through me what I cannot do in my own strength. And as I walk with Him, commit my way to Him, and yield to Him, He works to make me more like His Son.

I want to be more and more like Jesus, but I know I have a long way to go because of my “me” problem. But as Proverbs 21:2 reminds us, God weighs our hearts. He knows me through and through. He knows my desires and He knows my weaknesses. He knows my heart. The more I seek Him, believe Him, and trust Him as I walk with Him daily, the more He will take over my “me” problem as He lives in and through me.

An old hymn, “Be Thou My Vision,” written by Dallan Forgail in the 8th century, expresses so well the plea of a heart that is trusting completely in the Lord, crying out for the Lord to be his vision, wisdom, battle shield, sword, dignity, delight, shelter, and tower; and declaring “Thou and Thou only, first in my heart; High King of Heaven, my Treasure Thou art.” I pray that the petition in these lyrics will more and more reflect the prayer of my heart and that my “me” problem will grow more and more dim as my Lord is truly first in my heart. May this be your prayer, too.

 

Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart;
Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art
Thou my best Thought, by day or by night,
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

Be Thou my Wisdom, and Thou my true Word;
I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord;
Thou my great Father, I Thy true son;
Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one.

Be Thou my battle Shield, Sword for the fight;
Be Thou my Dignity, Thou my Delight;
Thou my soul’s Shelter, Thou my high Tower:
Raise Thou me heavenward, O Power of my power.

Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise,
Thou mine Inheritance, now and always:
Thou and Thou only, first in my heart,
High King of Heaven, my Treasure Thou art.

High King of Heaven, my victory won,
May I reach Heaven’s joys, O bright Heaven’s Sun!
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
Still be my Vision, O Ruler of all.

Leave a Reply

Categories

