Posted by: glorifyhim1 | September 1, 2015

Wiping Away Fingerprints

Wiping Away Fingerprints

Early Monday morning I set out to get our house in order after a busy weekend. While our house pretty much always looks lived in, it was clearly evident that life had happened over the weekend. We were blessed with family, dogs, food, and fun – inside, outside, and yes, even sometimes upside down. My kitchen also showed the effects of cooking, churning ice cream, and packing it all up to take to our family reunion. I felt blessed, but my house looked worn out!

But as I began cleaning up all the clutter and mess, suddenly it all became bittersweet – especially when I came to the fingerprints on the glass storm door. There were sweet little fingerprints smudged all over the glass from my grandson’s tiny hands. I swear there were even nose and lip prints on that door, too! As I looked at those little fingerprints, I couldn’t help but think of the countless little fingerprints I had washed off doors, windows, and tabletops through the years – each tiny one so special and precious. And it made me think of God!

You see, among my greatest blessings from God has been the privilege of holding tiny hands – those of my own children, now a grandchild, and many others that I have been privileged to teach in preschool Sunday School and Vacation Bible School. I have never grown tired of seeing those tiny little hands dipped in paint and then pressed on paper to make a keepsake print for a parent. Each time I was reminded of how precious each of those little hands were, not only to me, but even more so to God Himself, the Creator, the One who formed each one in the womb.

Do you realize that you, too, are precious to God? As adults, sometimes, we forget that we are truly loved and treasured by God. None of us are accidents or mistakes. God created each one of us and fashioned our days (see Psalm 139). He has a plan and purpose for each of our lives. Sin, however, separates us from God. Yet, before we were even born, God planned a way to restore us to fellowship with Him by sending His Son to bear the penalty for our sins and to give us the gift of eternal life. As Jesus told Martha, the sister of Lazarus: “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live. And whoever lives and believes in Me shall never die. Do you believe this?” (John 11:25-26). When we believe and say yes to Jesus, we invite Him to come into our lives and fulfill His purpose in us. Not only do we find purpose and meaning through Christ, but we are also eternally secure in Him. No one or anything can snatch us out of His hand (see John 10:27-28). We are safely held by him – even when we stumble, fall, or fail.

God creates, plans, shapes, pursues, and cares for us with an everlasting love. He continually looks after us and cares for us. He sees and knows both our struggles and our joys. We are continually in His thoughts and on His mind. As the Psalmist declares: “And Your thoughts toward us cannot be recounted to You in order; if I would declare and speak of them, they are more than can be numbered” (Psalm 40:5b).

Isaiah, the prophet, told the people of Israel: “See, I (God) have inscribed you on the palms of My hands; your walls are continually before Me” (Isaiah 49:16).  As I wiped those tiny smudged fingerprints from the glass door, I was reminded that God will never wipe away, scratch off, or remove the names of His children. We are forever inscribed upon His hands and always under His watchful care. We are His children and each of us – young, old, or somewhere in-between – are treasured, loved, and precious to Him!

Responses

  1. Awwww! Very sweet, I love it!

    • Thanks, Sheila. I know that you know all about those tiny fingerprints! Oh, and congratulations on your daughter’s engagement!


Leave a Reply

Categories

