Posted by: glorifyhim1 | August 11, 2015

A Yearning Heart

A Yearning Heart

Last week my husband and I joined our two daughters, our son and daughter-in-law, and our sweet little grandson, for a family vacation at the beach. For as long as I can remember, a true family vacation meant going to a beach somewhere. I have sweet memories of beach trips with my Mama, Daddy, and sister – even the one when our car broke down when we were only an hour or two from home. As we limped along to a repair shop to have it fixed, my sister and I were so afraid that Daddy would turn around and go back home. But, after waiting around for what seemed like forever, we finally pulled away from the garage and headed toward the beach! Knowing what I know now, I’m sure that Mama and Daddy wanted, needed, and even yearned for that vacation as much, if not even more, than us kids.

As a parent, I know how much my husband and I looked forward to those vacations. When the kids were small, it was a treat to spend so much time with them just having fun – with no work schedules or household chores to worry about. Likewise, it was fun to treat them to the little extras that our daily, tight budget didn’t always allow.

As the kids grew, I think I treasured family vacations even more. The kids were older, busier, and on the go. They were involved in church and school activities and spent time with friends. Family vacations were a time for all of us to slow down and enjoy time together.

And as we met together this year with our now grown children, I doubt that even they could fathom just how much we longed to spend time with them.

I wonder. Is that the way God yearns for us?

  • Does He yearn for time – sweet fellowship – with us?
  • Is He jealous of those things that we allow to crowd Him out?
  • Does He yearn to bless us?
  • Does He long for us to share our hearts, to talk with Him about our deepest disappointments as well as our most joyful moments?
  • Is He anxious for us to remember Him, that He is right there with us at all times?

Scripture affirms that God indeed yearns for His children – much more than we could ever comprehend. He loved us first (see 1 John 4:19). He sought Adam and Eve in the garden although He knew they had disobeyed Him (see Genesis 3:8-9). He sent His own Son to pay the penalty for our sin and to restore us to fellowship with Him (see John 3:16). Jesus came to find us and restore us. He, Himself, stated: “What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he loses one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the wilderness, and go after the one which is lost until he finds it?  And when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing. And when he comes home, he calls together his friends and neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep which was lost!’” (Luke 15:4-6).

I am so thankful for the yearning heart of my God. I don’t understand it, but I am ever so grateful for His love, pursuit, and desire for me. I pray that I will learn to live in a constant awareness of His presence with me. May I surrender those things that I allow to come between me and my God and may I take everything to Him – my hopes and dreams, my worries and anxieties, my sorrows and my joys. And there, in the yearning heart of my God, may my own yearning heart find peace and rest! May that be your prayer, too!

“As the deer pants for the water brooks,
So pants my soul for You, O God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God”

(Psalm 42:1-2a).

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

