Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 18, 2015

Putting on the New

Putting on the New

When I was growing up in the 50’s and 60’s, we generally bought new clothes two times a year – before Easter and before school started in August. Mama made many of our clothes, but in the Spring and Fall we were treated to brand new, store-bought clothes and shoes. I can still remember my sister and I poring over the old Sears and Roebuck catalog trying to decide on the outfits we liked the best. I honestly feel that it was more fun searching the pages of that catalog then than it is traipsing through the shopping malls today.

But even more than the searching and dreaming was when the big box actually arrived. What fun tearing into the packages and trying on the new clothes. No worries if an item were a little too long or didn’t fit just right. Our dear Mama with her trusty old Singer sewing machine could take up, let out, and remedy most of our sizing mishaps. It was amazing how good those new clothes made us feel!

I thought about this memory just this week when I read the following Scripture.

“And that you put on the new man which was created according to God, in true righteousness and holiness” (Ephesians 4:24).

Put on the new man! When we confess our sins and trust Jesus for our salvation, we are made new. As Paul also told the Corinthians: “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new” (2 Corinthians 5:17). Believers are reconciled to God through Christ. They have the Holy Spirit living within them to help them them (John 14:16-26), to give discernment (1 John 4:1-6), to give understanding (1 Corinthians 2:12-13), and to bear fruits (Galatians 5:22,23). But far too often, at least in my own life, I fail to put on the new man. Instead, I give in to my old ways and attitudes.

When we surrender our lives to Christ, we are made new. We are fully equipped with all that we need to live for Him and bear witness to Him. Yet, as Paul reminded the Ephesians, we have to choose whether to put on the new or give in to the old. There are three things Paul told the Ephesians in order to put on the new man.

  • Do not walk like the world (Ephesians 4:17-19).
  • Put off their old ways (Ephesians 4:22).
  • Renew their minds (Ephesians 4:23).

Turn away, put off, and renew. That is how we put on the new and become the man or woman that God created us to be. This is how God works in us and transforms us to look more and more like His dear Son.

I can remember as a child when I got my new clothes, I didn’t want to wear my old clothes anymore. I liked my new clothes better. And I’m discovering that the more I turn away from things of the world, the more I put off my old ways, and the more I renew my mind by seeking God and listening to His Spirit, the more I want to put on the new and to allow God to make me more like Jesus. It really feels good taking off the old and putting on the new!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

