Posted by: glorifyhim1 | June 28, 2015

Of High Court Decisions and Other Decisions

Of High Court Decisions and Other Decisions

On Friday the Supreme Court made a landmark decision that the Constitution guarantees a right to same-sex marriage. This decision is being applauded as a victory by some, cautiously accepted by others, and adamantly scorned by still others who hold fiercely to the belief that marriage should be between one man and one woman.

While I hold to the latter belief with all my heart, I realize that not all people, even of the same faith, subscribe to my beliefs on this subject. But rather than arguing or debating or trying to convince others of what I believe, I’d like to instead encourage all of us to consider decisions that each of us make every day. It is these decisions that ultimately determine how we look at life and how we choose to live life.

Every day we decide –

  • Who we will follow.

Do we follow our friends, people we admire, or idols that we cling to? Everybody follows somebody or something.

  • Who we will listen to.

Do we listen to those we follow, to prevailing thoughts and attitudes, or even to our own personal opinions? Whose voices do we allow to dominate our thinking and decision-making?

  • Who we will seek for guidance and understanding.

To whom do we go when we just don’t know? With so many competing voices, who do we trust to give us guidance and understanding?

  • Who we will obey.

Who or what governs my actions every day? Who do I obey?

In my own life, I know, without a doubt, who I want to follow, who I want to listen to, who I want to seek, and who I want to obey. It is my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Unfortunately, sometimes I fail. But when I come to Him and confess my sins, He is faithful to hear and forgive (see 1 John 1:9) and as I seek Him and listen to Him, He will help me….

  • To follow Him.

“Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, ‘I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life’” (John 8:12).

  • To listen to Him.

“My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me” (John 10:27).

  • To seek Him for guidance and understanding.

“Lead me in Your truth and teach me, For You are the God of my salvation; On You I wait all the day” (Psalm 25:5).

  • To obey Him.

“If you love me, keep my commandments” (John 14:15).

While you may not think that these everyday decisions have anything to do with the High Court’s decision, I think they have everything to do with it. No matter what side of the fence you may be on, just think if every one of us truly decided to follow Jesus, to listen to Him, to seek Him for guidance and understanding, and to obey Him, He would lead us in His way – not yours or mine. Just think of the difference it could make in our world, if just those who claim to be Christian would honestly spread out our questions, our differences of opinion before the Lord, and totally, completely seek to follow, listen, seek, and obey Him.  If My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land” (2 Chronicles 7:14). My heart is broken over the state of our nation. Please join me in seeking Christ, turning from our wicked ways, and praying for the healing of our nation. Our seemingly little, every day decisions, are undoubtedly the most important decisions of all!

 

 

Responses

  1. A well-thought article. I couldn’t have put it any better. Understandable as you derive your wisdom from the book of all ages that has all Truth and is a good guide for life. It is only unfortunate as you say, that so many voices are out there. Some of them lead the society to confusion and destruction.

  2. Thank you for reading and for your comment and encouragement!


Leave a Reply

Categories

