Posted by: glorifyhim1 | June 8, 2015

Overflowing Joy

Overflowing Joy

 

Last week, I had the sweet privilege of helping care for my grandson who will be two years old in October. Benji is talking, walking, and full of life and energy. He loves to build towers and knock them down, dance to Kid Bop tunes on Pandora, and march and do the motions to childhood favorites such as “If You’re Happy and You Know It,” The Ants Go Marching,” “The Wheels on the Bus Go Round and Round,” and many, many more. Needless to say, Gramma sometimes has trouble keeping up!

 

One day last week as I sat on the floor playing with him, he hopped up, paused, and then exclaimed: “Oh, me!” I burst out laughing as I immediately knew that he was repeating what he had undoubtedly heard me say over and over again as I struggled to get up and down and keep up with him. He flashed a big smile and eagerly repeated: “Oh, me!”

 

Benji’s joy and love of life are contagious. I can’t be around him for every long without catching some of his joy. I’m reminded of Proverbs 17:22: “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.” I received some very good medicine last week as Benji’s happiness and joy rubbed off on me.

 

But this week as I get back home with work to do and deadlines to meet, I find myself wondering about my measure of joy. Is the joy in my heart like a good medicine? Does it bubble up, overflow, and rub off on others? Or instead, do I allow my responsibilities, worries or problems to crush my spirit as well as the spirits of others?

 

Believers in Christ should be the most joyous of all people – because of the source of our joy. As the prophet Isaiah reminds us: “I delight greatly in the Lord; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels” (Isaiah 61:10). The believer’s joy is in the Lord Himself. Note that the prophet rejoices in my God and what He has done for him, personally. His delight and joy is in his personal relationship with God.

 

God, through Christ, has done for us what we could never do for ourselves. He has clothed us with the garments of salvation and covered us in robes of his righteousness. We are saved from our sin and adorned with the righteousness of Christ. Think of what it means to be adorned in His righteousness.

 

 

  • We are new creations. (See 2 Corinthians 5:17)
  • We are made righteous. (See 2 Corinthians 5:21)
  • We have peace with God. (See Romans 5:1)
  • We are accepted by God. (See Ephesians 1:6)
  • We can come confidently into God’s presence. (See Ephesians 3:12)

 

 

The believer’s joy is not dependent on situations or circumstances. It is grounded in the Lord and in our relationship with Him. While we surely cannot always be “happy,” as we delight ourselves in God and trust Him in every area of our lives, we can discover a deep, abiding peace and know an exceeding gladness because of what we have in Christ. This is the kind of joy that we can know even on our difficult or “Oh, me” kind of days. And, sometimes, this joy may just bubble up, overflow, and rub off on others!

 

“Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!”

(Philippians 4:4)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

