Posted by: glorifyhim1 | May 9, 2015

A Lesson From Mama

A Lesson From Mama

 

This weekend we will be celebrating and honoring our mothers. Although my Mama has been gone for over twenty years, there’s probably not a day that passes that I don’t either remember something she said, perform some task she taught me, or wish I could seek her opinion or guidance. But although she taught me oh so many things, one of the most important things I learned from Mama was not something she actually taught me. Instead, it was something she gave me. Mama loved me with all her heart.

 

As a child, I quickly learned that not only did Mama take care of me, but that she valued me. She was always there for me. She didn’t give up on me when I messed up. She still believed in me when I failed. And she was always my biggest supporter, rejoicing over my simplest victories.  Mama was someone on whom I could always count and depend. I learned a lot about what love really looks like as I both felt Mama’s love and as I watched her love others. There was no pretending, no hypocrisy, or anything fake about Mama’s love. And now, years later, I realize how much her love helped me to better comprehend God’s love.

 

One of my favorite Scripture passages is Romans 8:35-39. “Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? As it is written: ‘For Your sake we are killed all day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.’ Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” This verse has reminded me over and over as I’ve faced challenges in my life that God values me, too. He is there for me. He loves me and there is absolutely nothing that can separate me from His love. And I can’t help but feel that it was the love I had received from Mama all my life that helped me to grasp the completeness of Christ’s love for me.

 

You see, Mama modeled Christ’s love (as identified in the following Scriptures) as she loved me …..

 

  • fiercely (see 2 Chronicles 16:9)
  • protectively (see Psalm 31:20)
  • sacrificially (see John 3:16)
  • unconditionally (see Romans 5:8)
  • joyfully (see Zephaniah 3:17)
  • faithfully (see Psalm 86:15)

 

She loved like Christ!

 

I’m so thankful for my Mama’s love and for the lesson I “caught” as I watched her model Christ’s love to me and others. Aristotle has been quoted as saying: “God loves each of us as if there were only one of us.” May we love others that way, too, truly valuing one another and serving as conduits of Christ’s ever-present, enduring love.

Leave a Reply

Categories

