Posted by: glorifyhim1 | February 14, 2015

A Perfect Love

A Perfect Love

 

 

Through the years I’ve been blessed to know many different kinds of love.

 

I’ve seen …

 

  • love watch for me as my Mom waited each afternoon to see my sister and I trudge home from school.
  • love think about me as my Dad, after sometimes working a double shift at the local plant, would head off to the swimming hole with his two daughters who begged him to take them swimming.
  • love help me as my older sister helped me with everything from riding my bike and damming up the creek to navigating high school and working at my first summer job.
  • love spend time with me as grandparents took time to smile, hug, and listen to a child’s idle chatter.
  • love forgive me as I played – and argued – with cousins and friends.
  • love seek me as the handsome young man who would one day be my husband sought to spend time with me.
  • love reach for my hand as each of my children and then my grandchild learned to walk.
  • love dwell in my heart because of all those who chose to share some measure of their love with me.

 

As I thought about the many different ways that people in my life have loved and cared for me, it occurred to me that each one, in some way, had demonstrated some aspect of God’s perfect love.

 

God’s love …

 

  • watches over me

“The Lord watches over you—    the Lord is your shade at your right hand” (Psalm 121:5).

 

  • thinks about me

“How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them!” (Psalm 139:17)

 

  • helps me

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand” (Isaiah 41:10).

 

  • spends time with me

“The Lord your God in your midst, the Mighty One, will save;
He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing” (Zephaniah 3:17).

 

  • forgives me

“In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins, according to the riches of His grace” (Ephesians 1:7).

 

  • seeks me

 For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save that which was lost” (Luke 19:10).

 

  • reaches for me

“For I, the Lord your God, will hold your right hand, saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you.’” (Isaiah 41:13).

 

  • dwells with me

“No man hath seen God at any time. If we love one another, God dwelleth in us, and his love is perfected in us” (1 John 4:12, KJV).

 

God’s love is a perfect love. While we, the imperfect humans we are, can never love perfectly, as we receive God’s love and welcome Him into our hearts and lives, His Spirit comes to dwell within us. As we allow His love to flow through us to others, His love is perfected in us. It is then that simple everyday expressions of human love become so much more –

 

Watching over those we love becomes a persistent wakefulness and attentiveness.

Thinking of others becomes tangible expressions of love and kindness.

Helping others becomes a desire and a joy.

Spending time with others becomes a privilege and delight.

Forgiving others becomes a response of mercy and grace.

Seeking others becomes a pursuit for the hurting, lonely, and lost.

Reaching for others becomes a longing to share another’s load.

 

And, little by little, as God dwells within us, as He settles down and makes Himself at home with us, His perfect love is seen more clearly in all we say and do!  What a privilege to be a conduit of His love!

 

 “That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man; That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love, May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height; And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.”

(Ephesians 3:16-19)

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on you make me brave and commented:
    On a day like today, I needed this

    • I need these reminders pretty regularly, too! Thanks for the reblog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

