Posted by: glorifyhim1 | January 22, 2015

Spiritual Lessons from a One-year-old

Spiritual Lessons from a One-year-old

 

This week I’ve had the blessing and privilege of helping care for my grandson, Benji. To say that I’ve been much more tired this week is quite an understatement. Let’s just say that for someone who generally hits the pillow around midnight, this week I’ve been ready to head that direction by 9:00. Somehow time had helped me forget the immense energy and unbridled joy of a one-year-old child.

 

I had also forgotten something else – their absolute trust. I held my grandson after his bath one evening and watched as he willingly held out his hands and pointed each tiny finger for his mom to trim his nails. There was no worry or anticipation – just simple trust. I also saw how he just adapted to whatever was going on around him. Whether he was placed on the floor to play, or carted off on a walk to feed the ducks, or buckled in the car seat to go somewhere, he pretty much just went along with the flow of things. He didn’t seem to worry about what he had done an hour ago or what we were going to do tonight. He was living in the moment, fully experiencing every sight, sound, and smell.

 

The lesson couldn’t escape me. When a child can look to us, his fallible caretakers this way, why can’t I always show such absolute trust in my loving Heavenly Father? Why do I so often allow fear or worry to eclipse the joy and wonder of today? Why do I miss so many blessings right now because I’m dwelling on yesterday or anticipating tomorrow?

 

The answers to these questions probably lie in something else I observed in my grandson. He would get tired and cranky sometimes. He would act up or collapse in tears when he sometimes couldn’t have or do what he wanted. But I also saw who he turned to when he was tired and cranky, when he was overwhelmed or discouraged. He looked for the two most important people in his world – his mom and dad. To be sure, they may not always let him have his way or give him what he wants. They may even take him places where he doesn’t want to go or encourage him to do things that he thinks are too hard or difficult for him. Yet, even in the midst of even these hard moments, he turns to them, the ones he knows he can trust.

 

I love the statement of trust that David makes in Psalm 31:14-15a: “But as for me, I trust in You, O Lord; I say, ‘You are my God.’ My times are in Your hand.” In Psalm 31, the psalmist David cries out to God over his troubles and adversities, the reproaches and slander of his enemies, his griefs and sadness, and his brokenness over his own sin. David doesn’t turn away from God, however. Neither his troubles or his sin keeps him from looking to God, the One he knows he can trust to deliver him, encourage, and strengthen him.

 

I love My Lord Jesus! He has been there for me more times than I could ever recount. Sometimes He has rescued me from my trouble or adversity. At other times He has encouraged or strengthened me for whatever struggle I must endure. And at still other times, He has shined His face upon me (Psalm 31:16) and lifted up my head (Psalm 3:3) as He ever so mercifully and gently reminded me that I can trust Him.

 

I’m so thankful for my time with Benji this week and I’m especially grateful for the spiritual reminder from my Heavenly Father. I can trust Him with all my yesterdays, todays, and tomorrows. He made me, He knows me, and He loves me. So just as my young grandson turns to the ones he knows he can trust, may I turn to my Heavenly Father and declare like David: “’But as for me, I trust in You, O Lord; I say, ‘You are my God.’ My times are in Your hand’” (Psalm 31:14-15a).

 

Responses

  1. Thank you for this very encouraging post. God bless you:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

