Posted by: glorifyhim1 | January 9, 2015

A New Word for the New Year

A New Word for the New Year

 

Recently a read a blog post by my friend Scott Wiley. You can read his post here … http://recklessobedience.blogspot.com/20…/…/a-new-thing.html . In this post, Scott shares that he chooses one word at the beginning of each year to be his focus for the new year. As I read his post, I was first challenged by his choice of the word “Yes” and his desire to always be ready to say yes to God even if he doesn’t always know the way God is leading. Then I was challenged to think what word that God might be impressing on me.

 

It didn’t really take me long. My word for 2015 is the word “encourage.” I want to be an encourager. I’ve always wanted to be an encourager, but to be honest it’s not something that I always do well. I don’t always know the right words to say or the right things to do.  So, more often than not, I just don’t say or do anything. Oh, I may pray – but if I don’t let that person know I’m praying, I’m losing an opportunity to come along side of them and encourage them. At the same time, however, I know how much it means to me personally to receive encouragement.

 

When I began this blog in 2009, I hoped to help and encourage others who like me are trying to learn to be more like Christ and glorify Him in all that we do. Sometimes I struggle and stumble in my walk and it helps to know that I’m not alone. At other times, my joy is so palpable that I just have to share it so we can rejoice together. But through this experience, I’ve learned that I have been the one who has been encouraged. No, I don’t have loads of followers, but practically every month a few more join the list. No, I don’t get a lot of likes and comments, but there are those who consistently read and sometimes even share my blog with others. And then there are those who take the time to send me a private email or message to tell me how much a particular blog meant to them. You’ll never know how much those messages have encouraged me!

 

The writer of Hebrews states: “And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works, not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as you see the Day approaching” (Hebrews 10:24-25). I am so thankful for others that God has placed in my life who consistently lift me up and encourage me. This year, I pray that I will be an encouragement to you as well. It may be something I write, something that God has helped me to learn; it may be something I say or do for you as God guides me and helps me; and it may be something we do together as we encourage one another and reveal the love of Christ to others – to some who do not yet know Him. What a privilege to “stir up love and good works” and to encourage one another!

 

“But encourage each other daily, while it is still called today, so that none of you is hardened by sin’s deception.”

(Hebrews 3:13, HCSB)

Leave a Reply

Categories

