Posted by: glorifyhim1 | December 19, 2014

My Christmas Wish

My Christmas Wish

 

I’m ready for Christmas.

 

My home is ready. My gifts are wrapped and under the tree. My shopping is done for my cooking and baking. And this morning, I finished cleaning my house. I vacuumed over, under, around, and even got to some of those spots that I regularly skip over. My home is ready for Christmas.

 

My heart is ready for Christmas. This year as I’ve thought about the birth of Jesus, my Savior, God has laid upon my heart that, yes, Jesus came to save me, but He came to do even more. He came to be with me, to walk with me, to help me, to share my deepest sorrows and my greatest joys. David’s declaration of faith in Psalm 27 has come to have a whole new meaning to me. I love the Holman translation of verse 1.

 

“The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom should I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom should I be afraid?”

Jesus is my light, my salvation, and the stronghold of my life. Believers today have God constantly with them through the gift of the Holy Spirit. Jesus told His disciples before He left them: Nevertheless I tell you the truth. It is to your advantage that I go away; for if I do not go away, the Helper will not come to you; but if I depart, I will send Him to you” (John 16:7). We can constantly be in Jesus’ Presence because of the gift of the Holy Spirit. My heart is ready for Christmas!

 

Yes, my home and heart are ready, but I still have a Christmas wish. This Christmas wish is centered on someone dear to me, but I know there are many others that you probably know, too, who have desperate needs this Christmas. My Christmas wish is for a miracle in the life of my sister-in-law.

 

Less than a month ago, she was enjoying a Thanksgiving trip to the beach. A week later she was diagnosed with Stage 4 cancer. Before the pain that attacked her after she returned home, there had been no symptoms – nothing to signal that anything was wrong. She had received regular physicals and followed all her doctor’s orders for routine tests and exams. Needless to say, in one day, the world of my sister-in-law and her family was turned upside down.

 

While doctors are still trying to determine the best way to try to attack this cancer, I try to think of what to say. I hug her. I tell her I’m praying for her. I offer to do anything she needs me to do. She smiles. She cries. I don’t think she knows what to say either. We’ve shared family Christmases, holidays, and reunions. We’ve laughed together over our husbands’ selective hearing. We’ve raised kids together. We’ve taught Sunday School together. I’ve seen her tender heart as she teared up over children at the school where she worked who didn’t have enough food. She’s scolded me for not yet having a colonoscopy. I’ve seen her walk through Alzheimer’s with her own mother. In short, we’ve done a lot of life together. And, now, I don’t know what to say.

 

Thankfully, I know that my sister-in-law knows Jesus. I know that she doesn’t have to face this battle with only the limited help all of those who love her can give. Just as I cling to Psalm 27 for me, I cling to it for her as well. Stronghold can be defined as a protected place. That is what we have in Jesus. Whatever battle we face, we know that we are in that protected place where He will shelter us and care for us. Sometimes, He will deliver us through a miracle or His gracious intervention. At other times, He doesn’t remove the struggle, but He walks with us and helps us to endure. He will never, ever leave or forsake us.

 

Yes, my home is ready – although I know that there will be dust on the tabletops, paw prints on the floor, and dog hair on the furniture even before my first Christmas guest arrives. My heart is ready – although I don’t always understand the battles we face, I rejoice in knowing that Jesus is with me, that He is my Stronghold to whom I can forever cling. And I take my Christmas wish and humbly spread it out before my Lord. I pray for my sister-in-law and for others in hard places. I pray for still others who do not know Jesus and who must face each day without the light, salvation, and stronghold that we can have in Him. I wish and I pray for the hurting and the lost and for miracles – and I thank God for Christmas – the greatest miracle of all when Jesus was born – our Light, our Salvation, our Stronghold!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

