Posted by: glorifyhim1 | December 11, 2014

I See You, Christmas

I See You, Christmas

I see you, Christmas,

in the face of a little child,

eyes aglow in wonder

at the twinkling, dancing lights.

I see you, Christmas,

in the joy young lovers know

sharing hopes, dreaming dreams

and a kiss ‘neath the mistletoe.

I see you, Christmas,

in the family all a scurry,

shopping, baking, decorating,

hurry, hurry, hurry!

I see you, Christmas,

in those scarred, sick, and alone

who cling to you like an anchor

remembering sweet days long gone.

I see you, Christmas,

And the tender gifts you bring,

gifts of wonder, joy, life, and hope,

gifts bestowed by the King.

Yes, I see you, Christmas,

You’re an anchor for my soul,

For the baby in the manger

Is the King who makes me whole.

 

Every Christmas I remember so many Christmases before – precious memories from childhood, sweet memories from those first years as husband and wife, joyous memories with our children and now with a dear grandchild. I remember so many happy Christmases, but I also remember some difficult ones as well – the many first Christmases without – without Grandparents, without our waited and longed-for first daughter, without Dad, without Mom, without a loved brother-in-law, without Poppa and Granny (my in-laws), and without a precious grandson.

 

But there’s something funny about Christmas. In spite of all the happy, sad, mixed-up Christmases we may have known, Christmas seems to always usher in a season of expectancy and hope. As we look back to that very first Christmas when Jesus was born, we’re reminded that God has a plan. Jesus’ life was not an easy one, but He traveled the path laid out for Him all the way to the cross. Why? Because of His love for you and me. It is that love that not only redeems us, but that continues to surround us and help us as we navigate the life that God has planned for us as well.

 

I know that I’ll never be able to fully wrap my mind around that kind of love. But every Christmas, I’ll remember. And as I remember and reflect on all the Christmases with which I’ve been blessed – both the happy and the hard, I’ll once again see the wonder, joy, life, and hope that Christmas brings – all because of Jesus.

 

“And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.”

 (John 1:14)

Leave a Reply

Categories

