Posted by: glorifyhim1 | December 4, 2014

Christmas Has Already Come

Christmas Has Already Come

 

I love Christmas! I love the beautiful lights and decorations, the sounds of Christmas carols and music, the cooking and the baking. I even enjoy the shopping as I look for special gifts to surprise everyone on my Christmas list. But sometimes ….. instead of truly enjoying all of these things I love, I find myself rushing from one thing to another, crossing items off my list, and hurrying to make sure I get everything done. Instead of enjoying the sights, sounds, and wonder of Christmas, I exchange the beauty and wonder for a mere crossed-off to-do list and a mission accomplished. But guess what! Christmas has already come!

Just this morning I headed to the grocery store to purchase items I needed to prepare a cheese ball, sausage balls, and other snacks for my family’s annual tree-decorating “party.” It’s really not a party, but just something that gradually developed over the years. We eat snacks, decorate the tree, and watch at least one old and favorite Christmas movie, one that we all practically know by heart. Through the years, this has become one of our family’s favorite traditions. Sometimes, we are able to put up our tree on the same day as the local town’s Christmas parade. Then we’ll go to the parade together first. It’s really a simple little event, but getting everything ready requires shopping, cooking, cleaning, and decorating – a lot of work. As I headed to the store this morning, I found myself mentally going over my list of things I needed to do when all of sudden it occurred to me. Did it really matter if I didn’t get everything done? After all – Christmas has already come!

I feel sure God laid this on my heart. Christmas has already come! Sometimes, we can get so distracted by all the “good” things we enjoy and love about Christmas that we forget why we do them in the first place. We can celebrate Christmas with or without a tree or festive decorations. We can celebrate Christmas with or without expensive gifts or thoughtful presents. We can celebrate Christmas with an elaborate feast or a simple meal. We can celebrate Christmas with one candle, thousands of lights, or no lights at all. Christmas is a time to celebrate the birth of our Savior, to reflect on His coming then as well as His coming to each of us personally, and to offer our thanks and praise. Christmas has already come, but with every Christmas we have another opportunity to remember, reflect, and rejoice.

I thought about this simple truth – Christmas has already come – as I pushed my cart through the grocery store. I realized anew the absolute wonder of what Christ did for you and me. And I also realized the absolute joy – not in crossing off another item on a Christmas to-do list – but in celebrating the wonder of Jesus’ birth, God becoming man. As I gather with family and loved ones throughout this month, I’m sure that there will be things that I may not get done or that may not work out exactly as I planned or wanted. But I pray that all I do will be done joyfully to celebrate the One who has done so much for me. May you, too, rejoice in knowing – Christmas has already come!

“For unto us a Child is born,
Unto us a Son is given;
And the government will be upon His shoulder.
And His name will be called
Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”

(Isaiah 9:6)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

