Posted by: glorifyhim1 | September 5, 2014

Seeing Through the Fog

Seeing Through the Fog

 

 

Recently, I’ve helped my niece by occasionally driving her to work in the mornings.  The route is familiar to me because I drove much of the same route daily before my retirement. While I definitely don’t miss rising early to head to work every morning, I admit that there is one thing that I do miss about that early morning drive – the incredible morning sky.

 

I was blessed during my working career to daily enjoy one of the most beautiful drives (I may be just a tiny bit prejudiced) in the whole world. Driving along the interstate highway surrounded by the Black Mountain and Blue Ridge Mountain ranges that circle the small valley where I lived and worked, I was often in awe of the majesty and beauty around me. I delighted in the changing canvas from spring and summer through fall and winter. I often prayed, sang praises (thankfully, no one else had to listen to my singing), and rejoiced in the amazing beauty that witnessed to the One who created it all – my Heavenly Father!

 

As much as I loved those layers of mountains, however, there was just something about the beauty of the changing sky. As I headed out most mornings this week, I was surrounded by a thick, blanket of fog. After dropping off my niece, however, and turning back toward home, I was treated to a dazzling display at the morning sun began to break through those stubborn low-lying clouds. Each curve in the road presented a different panorama – from sun so bright that I couldn’t even stare into the beauty (although I almost blinded myself trying) to a small circle of sunlight just visible behind the rising fog- and all against the backdrop of the mountains emerging from the fog. It was amazing! All I could do was worship.

As I thought of the brightness breaking through the thick fog, I was reminded of many Old Testament scriptures that speak of God’s radiant glory. I recalled when God gave the law to Moses on Mt. Sinai that  The sight of the glory of the Lord was like a consuming fire on the top of the mountain in the eyes of the children of Israel” (Exodus 24:17). Later, after the people of Israel finished building the tabernacle, the cloud covered the tabernacle of meeting, and the glory of the Lord filled the tabernacle. And Moses was not able to enter the tabernacle of meeting, because the cloud rested above it, and the glory of the Lord filled the tabernacle” (Exodus 40:34-35).  This same glory, cloud of light, also filled Solomon’s temple when it was completed (see 1 Kings 8:10-11). Ezekiel, the prophet, had a vision of heaven and the throne of God. “ And above the firmament over their heads was the likeness of a throne, in appearance like a sapphire stone; on the likeness of the throne was a likeness with the appearance of a man high above it. 27 Also from the appearance of His waist and upward I saw, as it were, the color of amber with the appearance of fire all around within it; and from the appearance of His waist and downward I saw, as it were, the appearance of fire with brightness all around.28 Like the appearance of a rainbow in a cloud on a rainy day, so was the appearance of the brightness all around it. This was the appearance of the likeness of the glory of the Lord(Ezekiel 1:26-28).

God’s glory is often associated with light, brightness, and fire. In essence, such light demands our attention. It is not something that we can easily ignore. God wants to reveal Himself to us. He wants to break through our fog and help us see Him – to really see Him for the awesome, amazing God He is – not because He needs our praise, but because we need Him and His power in our lives. We can behold His glory in various ways.

  • One way God reveals His glory is through Creation. The Bible tells us:

 

The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament shows His handiwork.
Day unto day utters speech, and night unto night reveals knowledge.
There is no speech nor language where their voice is not heard.
Their line] has gone out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world.

In them He has set a tabernacle for the sun” (Psalm 19:1-4).

 

The vastness, as well as the intricate detail, of all that God made reveals a great and mighty, incomparable God who is filled with power and wisdom. All that He created testifies to His great glory.

 

 

  • God also reveals His glory through His Son, Jesus. The author of Hebrews states:

“God, who at various times and in various ways spoke in time past to the fathers by the prophets, has in these last days spoken to us by His Son, whom He has appointed heir of all things, through whom also He made the worlds; who being the brightness of His glory and the express image of His person, and upholding all things by the word of His power, when He had by Himself purged our sins, sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high” (Hebrews 1:1-3).

 

The greatest expression of God’s glory was found in His Son, Jesus. Jesus showed us the Father. Jesus, Himself, stated: “He who has seen me has seen the Father” (see John 14:9). Jesus revealed a merciful, gracious, and loving God. Through Jesus’ revelation of the Father, we come to know a holy, righteous, sinless, and forgiving God who is faithful to His promises.

 

  • God also reveals His glory through believers just like you and me.

Oh, sing to the Lord a new song! Sing to the Lord, all the earth. Sing to the Lord, bless His name; Proclaim the good news of His salvation from day to day.  Declare His glory among the nations, His wonders among all peoples” (Psalm 96:1-3).

Paul told the Corinthians to do all that they did to the glory of God (see 1 Corinthians 10:31). In other words, as believers our foremost desire should be to reveal Him to others – wherever we go, whatever we do. We do that as we seek to honor Him in all that we do. Do we obey Him? Do we confess our sins and turn from them? Do we seek God and learn from Him? As we walk with Him and trust in Him, do we begin to look a little more like Him? Do others begin to see Christ in your life and mine? Do we tell others about His goodness, His faithfulness, His love, mercy, and grace? When we do these things, we are bringing glory to God as we reveal Him to those around us.

As I think about the glory of my Heavenly Father, I am both humbled and overjoyed that in His glory and greatness, He calls me to help show something of who He is to others. So many times I feel like that thick blanket of fog I witnessed on my early morning drives when I allow my daily activities, worries, and concerns to blanket me and consume my thoughts and attention. Yet I know this God of glory who is ever ready to let His light spring forth and dispel the thick fog around me. When I turn to Him, seek Him, and honestly seek to honor Him in all that I do, not only will His light shine forth in me, but He can reflect His glory through me to help others, too, witness His glory and know Him.

 

“But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.”

(2 Corinthians 3:18)

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

