Posted by: glorifyhim1 | August 5, 2014

Called To Simply Be

Called To Simply Be

Yesterday, I was a child

Who laughed and ran and played,

Oblivious to time or change

Or even the time of day,

Climbing trees, riding bikes,

Wading in cold creeks,

Life was made for living,

I was content to simply be.

But as I grew and packed away

The memories of those days,

The pressures of life and living

Soon obscured those simple ways,

Consumed with work and schedules

And so many needs to meet,

Life became a struggle

As I forgot how to simply be.

But as I worked and struggled

And fought to make my way,

I prayed for God’s direction

And for needed strength each day,

He heard my prayer and answered

In an unexpected way,

He helped me see my children

As they laughed and played each day.

Assured of their father’s love

Life was lived with joy,

Not with stress and worry

Over every broken toy,

My Heavenly Father loves me, too,

My steps and needs, He sees,

He gives me life for living

And calls me to simply be.

My Heavenly Father taught me this lesson many years ago, but as is usually the case with me, I’ve needed to be reminded more than once. What does it mean to be called “to simply be”? To me, this is the basic call that God gives to each of us to be His child. When we accept His offer of salvation and surrender to His Lordship in our lives, we become His children. As John declared about Jesus: “Yet to all who did receive him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God— children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband’s will, but born of God” (John 1:12-13). God made the way and calls us to be His children.

 

While many of us know this in our heads, for some reason we seem to have trouble translating it into our hearts. We joyfully accept God’s offer of salvation and set out determined to make it work. But we forget the most important thing of all. God wants us first and foremost – more than anything we can do for Him. God wants us to know the joy of walking with Him; to find strength, help, and courage in His presence; and to know peace and rest as we fellowship with Him. He wants us to look to Him as a child looks to her father, totally trusting in the one she loves and who loves her. This is our first calling – to simply be His child. Any other calling God makes on our lives flows from and through this relationship as He guides us in and through the situations and circumstances we face each day.

 

God calls every believer to be  ….

 

  • Still and know God – “Be still and know that I am God….” (see Psalm 46:10).
  • Yoked to Him – “Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls” (Matthew 11:29).
  • Trusting – “Be not anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on;” “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you” (see Matthew 6:25a, 33).
  • Faithful – “If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word; and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our home with him” (John 14:23).

 

As we seek and surrender ourselves to God, as we walk with Him and learn from Him, as we trust Him and are faithful to do what He shows us, not only can we live life with joy, but He will give us peace in the midst of all our circumstances. Our Heavenly Father will take care of all the details. May we answer His call to simply be.

Leave a Reply

Categories

