Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 15, 2014

Continuing My Journey

Continuing My Journey

 

I only have a little over a month left with my current group of kindergartners in Sunday School – alas, my last group. What a privilege it has been for the past 32 years to help young children as they begin their life-long journeys of learning about Jesus. I have been blessed beyond words and ever thankful that God has allowed me to be part of such a ministry.

 

My decision to leave did not come easily. I’ve worked with preschoolers for so long that I’m not sure if I can sit quietly with adults. Neither am I sure if I can get out of the habit of packing two or three bags every Sunday morning filled with activities, CD’s, snacks, and everything I need to engage five- year-olds. And will I ever get used to not making homemade play dough? But in spite of all my reservations, I think it’s finally time for me to leave kindergarten.

 

As I thought and prayed about the decision I needed to make, I happened to read the following passage about God’s call to Abraham.

 

The God of glory appeared to our father Abraham when he was in Mesopotamia, before he dwelt in Haran, and said to him, ‘Get out of your country and from your relatives, and come to a land that I will show you.’ Then he came out of the land of the Chaldeans and dwelt in Haran. And from there, when his father was dead, He moved him to this land in which you now dwell. And God gave him no inheritance in it, not even enough to set his foot on. But even when Abraham had no child, He promised to give it to him for a possession, and to his descendants after him” (Acts 7:2-5).

 

Although I have often read about God’s call to Abraham, this time I noticed several key things about that call.

 

1. God told Abraham to go without knowing where.

 

When God calls us to go somewhere or do something, He doesn’t always give us the whole picture of what He has planned. He wants us – our worship, our devotion, our obedience, our complete trust. He guides us in the way He wants us to go as we stay close to Him, listen, and obey.

 

2. God told Abraham to go to a land He would show him.

 

God doesn’t set us off on a course and expect us to navigate it all by ourselves. He told Abraham to go to a land that He would show him. In much the same way, God will give us direction and guide us to the “land” He has prepared for us.

 

 

3. God directed Abraham step by step.

 

Abraham left as God directed, but he stopped in Haran – not in the land of Canaan. We don’t know why Abraham stopped in Haran, but apparently he stayed there until the death of his father. Then God moved him on to the promised land. Genesis 12 recounts God’s continued call to Abraham to leave Haran and continue on to Canaan. God leads us step by step. Sometimes we may take detours and fail to follow God’s leading. We may go when God says stay, or we may stay when God says go. But God is ever ready to help us get back on track and continue on.

 

4. God gave Abraham not an inheritance, but a promise.

 

God promised to make Abraham a great nation and a blessing to others. However, He gave Abraham no inheritance in the land to which He brought Him, but promised to give the land to Abraham’s descendants (see Genesis 12:7). God gave Abraham a promise instead of a possession. Possessions have a tendency to hold us back, while promises tend to push us forward as we seek to obtain the promise. I think that the call God places on your life and mine is probably a lot like the one given to Abraham. Our callings, our ministries, are not our possessions. They are not something we own or that define us.   Our callings and ministries are sacred opportunities to participate in some way in God’s kingdom work – a work that is intent on revealing the precious promises of God.

 

 

God calls each of His children to follow wherever He leads them. The callings differ as well as the times and seasons for those calls, but one thing remains the same – our total surrender to God as He directs our steps. When God called me as a young Christian to help in a 4- and 5-year old Sunday School class, I had no idea the calling on my life that would continue to unfold over the next 30 or so years as I grew right along with the kids I had the privilege of teaching. But God set my course, directed my steps, and called me to follow Him. As I look back over these years, I see God’s faithfulness in all the ways He guided me. Now, as I look forward, I know that I can trust Him to continue to lead and direct my steps, knowing that I can depend on His faithfulness whatever He calls me to do.

 

 

I’m so thankful for the call God gave me all those years ago to teach preschoolers. What a difference that call and all the preschoolers I’ve had the joy of teaching, have made in my life. Although it’s hard to step way, just as Abraham left for a place he did not know, I feel that it’s time for me to do the same. I’m going to stay close to my Heavenly Father, and pray that He will guide me step by step as I continue my journey. And I’m going to keep pressing on and looking forward to the promise that awaits all of God’s children – but I still might bring the playdough!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

