Posted by: glorifyhim1 | July 10, 2014

What I Love Most About Jesus

What I Love Most About Jesus

 

There are so many things I love about Jesus – His love and compassion, His merciful and forgiving nature, His strength and power, His righteousness and justice, His humility and grace, His commitment and steadfastness to fulfill God’s plan – I guess I could go on and on. But there is one thing that I love most of all. The one thing that I love the most about Jesus is that He sees me! He doesn’t look past me, around me, or pretend not to notice me. In other words, in a world where people are so often just another number, and who are oftentimes scarcely even noticed by others, Jesus truly sees me. I matter to Jesus.

 

Jesus came for all of us, but He came for each of us individually. Jesus stated: “I am the good shepherd; and I know My sheep, and am known by My own. As the Father knows Me, even so I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep” (John 10:14-15). We matter to Jesus – He knows each of His sheep intimately and well. He knows our hang-ups and problems, our hopes and our dreams. He knows when we hurt, when we fail, when we are overcome with joy. He sees us; He knows us; we matter to Jesus.

 

The Scriptures offer numerous examples of ways that Jesus saw and ministered to men and women just like you and me. He showed compassion to the multitudes and healed the sick, the crippled, and the blind. He freed others from the power of unclean spirits and demons. Jesus calmed the wind and the waves and His disciples’ fears. He talked with the woman at the well as He passed through Samaria, fully knowing her need, and leading her to know the Messiah. He saw crowds who were hungry and gave them food. He befriended tax collectors and sinners and called them to follow Him. He called lowly fishermen and taught them to be fishers of men. He offered forgiveness to a woman caught in adultery. He cried with Mary and Martha over the death of Lazarus. He welcomed and took time for young children. He came to Thomas who doubted and showed him the print of the nails in His hands. After being denied by Peter, Jesus sought him and restored him.

 

All of the above stories and so many more, reveal a Savior who sees us. He sees us when we’re sick and hurting. He sees us when we’re fearful, anxious, or tormented. He sees us when we’ve lost our way and need direction. He sees us when we’re hungry or have needs. He sees us whether we’re rich or poor, black or white, young or old, believing or doubtful. Jesus sees us, wherever we are, whatever we’re going through, and He is ready to climb right into the boat with us and get us through our storm, no matter how difficult or messy it may be.

 

But not only does Jesus see where we’ve been and where we are, He also sees what we can be. The people that Jesus walked along side of in Scripture rarely stayed the same. Jesus made a difference in each of their lives. Because of Jesus, outcasts became disciples and sinners became soul winners. The hurting, weary, and lost found a Savior – a Savior they wanted to know and that they wanted others to know as well.

 

It’s the same today, my friend. Jesus sees you and me just as He did those early followers. He invites us to open our Bibles and listen to Him, to retreat to our own inner sanctuaries and talk to Him, and to invite Him to come into our hearts and change us. He may be calling you to be a preacher or teacher like Peter who had formally denied even knowing Jesus. He may be calling you to give to others like the rich Zacchaeus who had obtained money by questionable means. He may be calling you to just come to Him with your questions and your doubts. Or He may be calling you to just come and rest your weary soul. Whatever He may be calling you to do, He asks you to come just as you are – just like all of those He walked with in Galilee, Capernaum, Samaria, and Judea. They came poor and wretched, sick and hurting, lost and hopeless, and they found a Savior. May we all do the same.

 

Then Jesus said to them again, “Most assuredly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep.All who ever came before Me[a] are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not hear them.I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture. 10 The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.

(John 10:7-10)

 

Responses

  1. That was so wonderfully written, so much you expressed in one devotional about all Jesus did for others…and that He sees us in the same ways…how comforting! Thanks for writing.
    Dawn

    • Thanks, Dawn. I enjoyed looking at your blog as well. I’m sure you are busy on the farm now, but it looks like a lot of fun, too. I especially like the Hens of Hollifield Farm Facebook Page.:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

