Posted by: glorifyhim1 | June 25, 2014

When My Strength is Small

When My Strength is Small

 

 

We all have those days — those times when we feel that we just don’t have any more strength. We can get to that place through any number of ways. It may be a grief that is just too much to bear. Perhaps it is pain or suffering that just finally takes its toll. Or it could be an unyielding work load, a relationship that is filled with problems, or even a combination of all these things. But there comes a time when all our efforts to endure, to hang in there, and to keep pressing on, just don’t seem to be enough. We have come to the end of our strength.

 

The Bible has a lot to say about strength. Paul advised the Corinthians to “Watch, stand fast in the faith, be brave, be strong” (1 Corinthians 16:13). Such words can inspire and encourage us, but, frankly, when I’m worn out and wrung out and I’m at the end of my rope, I want to simply ask, “How?” How do I do it? How do I become strong? It’s kind of like this pain I’m having in my knee right now. When I stand, it hurts. When I walk, it hurts. Sometimes, even when I sit it hurts. My knee, or the cartilage and ligaments around it, are weak. In time, certain exercises and activities can help strengthen my knee, but right now I can’t do those. In much the same way, when I’m down and out with no more fight left in me, how can I be strong?

 

Thankfully, the Bible gives us some words of advice on how to be strong. The following Scriptures have been helpful to me many times as I’ve grappled with how to keep standing and remain strong when I feel oh, so weak.

 

  • “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest” (Matthew 11:28).

 

Sometimes, when I’m struggling with something whether it is physical, emotional, or even spiritual, I try to figure it out or work it out myself. I think on it, agonize over it, work at it, and literally wear myself out. But Jesus invites us to bring all of our troubles and issues to Him. He doesn’t want us to try to bear it alone. Believe me, I don’t know how it works, but I know it does. When I truly surrender my issues to Him, He makes a difference in me. My problem may not be miraculously solved, but He gives me rest from the worry and strife that plague me and gives me renewed strength to face them.

 

  • “Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the Lord your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you” (Deuteronomy 31:6).

 

When we’re tired and weary, we need to remember that no matter what battle we’re facing, we’re not in it alone. The Lord our God is with us. He goes with us. He promises to not leave us or forsake us. Usually, when we’re really down, we feel that no one could possibly understand the depths of our hurt or agony, but God knows and He promises to stay right there with us. He assures us of His constant presence with us in our storms, and He gives us strength.

 

  • “Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might” (Ephesians 6:10).

 

Paul encouraged the Ephesians to not just be strong, but to be strong in the Lord and in His power. This is the strength that comes from not only taking our situation to the Lord, but trusting Him with it. No adversity comes to us without the knowledge of our all-powerful, all-knowing Lord. Jesus taught: “Are not two sparrows sold for a copper coin? And not one of them falls to the ground apart from your Father’s will. But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.” (Matthew 10:29-31).Do we really believe that our God is in control? Do we believe in His power and that He can do anything? Can I let go of all my what if’s, what I think, what I want, and trust Him to work things out according to His wisdom and plan? When I can do this, and surrender my most precious wants and desires to Him, I can discover a different kind of strength – a strength not in my abilities or what I can work out, but a strength that I can know because of the all-powerful One that I know. I find my strength in Him, in His wisdom, and in what He can do.

 

When my strength is small, I’m so thankful that Jesus invites me to come to Him and just rest. I’m glad that He promises me that He won’t leave me, but that He’ll walk with me through any trouble I face. And how joyful I am to know that I can be strong, not because of what I can do, but because of the amazing God in whom I can put my trust.

 

“But those who wait on the Lord
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint.”

(Isaiah 40:31)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

