Posted by: glorifyhim1 | June 14, 2014

The Qualities of a Great Dad

The Qualities of a Great Dad

 

Two Great Dads

Two Great Dads

 

Dads come in all shapes and sizes, with differing gifts and abilities, and with various interests, hopes, and desires. While no two Dads are exactly alike, I feel that there are four qualities that can be seen in all great Dads. These four things result in gifts to their children, a legacy, if you will, that will forever stay with their kids. I feel blessed to have known quite a few of these great Dads. See if you recognize these four qualities in Dads you know.

 

  • A great Dad loves like there’s no tomorrow.

 

A great Dad loves his kids and his kids’ mother – more than he loves himself.

 

  • A great Dad gives like there’s only today.

 

A great Dad shows his love by giving. He gives time and more time, money and more money, and sometimes he gives up some of his biggest dreams for the dreams of those he loves.

 

  • A great Dad lives those things he teaches.

 

A great Dad doesn’t just tell those around him what to do. He shows them how it’s done. I love the quote by Clarence Budington Kelland: “My father didn’t tell me how to live; he lived, and let me watch him do it.”

 

  • A great Dad knows that real men pray.

 

No matter how great a Dad may be, truly great Dads know that their strength and help come from the greatest Father of all, their Heavenly Father. There are really no self-made men. Real men depend not upon themselves, but upon God.

 

As I thought about these qualities, it occurred to me how each of these traits can point us to our Heavenly Father as well. A Dad who loves his family with an unconditional love models the all-encompassing love of God. “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life” (John 3:16). This deep love of God cost Him deeply as He gave His only Son, Jesus. And Jesus paid the ultimate sacrifice as He willingly lay down His life for you and me. True love leads to giving and sacrifice. As Jesus walked on earth, He demonstrated the life God calls us to live, even retreating often to spend time alone with His Father in prayer.

 

I’m so thankful for the great Dads that I’ve known. So many of them have helped me see my Heavenly Father more clearly as I’ve seen what love and sacrifice look like as they were modeled in front of me day-by-day. As a child I didn’t always understand the many ways my Dad sacrificed for me. He made it look so easy – I thought it was just what Dads did. But, now, so many years later, as I’ve seen my own husband make it look so easy when I knew it always wasn’t, I’ve come to understand one more thing about great Dads. They don’t see the difficult times and the hard days as sacrifice. They don’t count the pluses and minuses or keep records of rights and wrongs. Just like the father of the prodigal son in the story told by Jesus (see Luke 15:11-32), a great Dad simply loves with his whole heart and longs to be gracious to those he loves – once again, just like our Heavenly Father.

 

A great Dad loves like there’s no tomorrow,

A great Dad lives like there’s only today,

A great Dad lives those things he teaches,

A great Dad knows that real men pray.

Happy Father’s Day to all those great Dads!

“He has shown you, O man, what is good ;And what does the Lord require of you
But to do justly,To love mercy, And to walk humbly with your God?”

(Micah 6:8)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. I like your list, and agree with all four completely! Nice Father’s Day post!

    • Thanks for reading, John. And I wish the best for you and your family (I read your blog). Enjoy every minute! Believe me, those days pass far faster than I ever imagined. Happy Father’s Day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

