Posted by: glorifyhim1 | May 11, 2014

Why Moms Cry

????????????

Like most mothers, over the years I have received my share of sweet, precious gifts and cards for Mother’s Day. I still have some of the handmade cards my kids made when they were small and their simple expressions of love still make me smile. Now that my kids are older, I still smile as I read their cards and notes, but more times than not, unbidden tears also spring forth. I wonder why.

Perhaps I cry because being a mom is different now. I have always loved being a mom even when it wasn’t necessarily easy. When the kids were little, there was always something to do from laundry and cooking to reading picture books and playing. Some days even showers were a luxury and often the patter of little feet even accompanied me to the bathroom. As the kids grew, so did the issues we had to grapple with from teaching obedience and encouraging kindness, to instilling respect and developing  responsibility in tender young hearts. But whether we were playing and laughing or fighting a battle, I genuinely loved being a mom. But those years surely passed quickly. Could that be why I cry?

Perhaps I cry because I know that sometimes I failed. We begin parenting loving much, but knowing little. But unlike most other things we do, our practice at parenting doesn’t necessarily make us better. I often felt that the more I parented the less I knew. I loved my kids and definitely wanted to get this parenting thing right, but I know I certainly had my share of “mess-ups and wish I could do overs.” So, now when I read those sweet messages of thanks from my kids, I’m overcome anew with the faithfulness of God who hung in there with us and showered us with His mercy and grace. Could that be why I cry?

And, perhaps, I cry simply because that’s what moms do. True love is both a sacrifice and an investment. True love gives without seeking anything in return, but true love often receives back so much more than what was ever sacrificed. I know that’s true when I think of the many ways my kids have returned my love. They have brought me so much happiness, joy and laughter through the years. We’ve learned and grown together. My kids helped me to become a better mom and I hope that I’ve helped each of them to become the man or woman God created them to be. Moms become so entwined in the cares and worries, hopes and dreams of their children. Could that be why moms cry?

I’m thankful that God allowed me to be a mom. I realize that being a mom in itself is a gift that should never be taken lightly. Our first daughter was stillborn yet even she, in her death, taught me something about life. Through her death, God taught me about living with thanksgiving and hope. Because of Jesus, I can give thanks that my daughter’s death was not the end. Instead I can have joy and hope as I know that one day I will get to see her again. Losing her and then having other children has made me abundantly aware of all that was lost, but it has also made me more aware of the incredible gifts our children really are. Perhaps it is this gift of motherhood, the sweet calling to simply be a mom that really makes moms cry. How thankful I am for that incredible privilege! Thank You, God, for allowing me to be a mom.

Leave a Reply

Categories

