Posted by: glorifyhim1 | April 23, 2014

What Hurts God

What Hurts God

Earlier this week my daughter-in-law sent me a photo of our six-month-old grandson who had just received a vaccination at the doctor’s office. “Since I have to suffer, so do you,” she commented. And as I looked at the pained expression on his little face and the big tears rolling down his cheeks, I knew exactly what she meant.

2014042195115040

I had been there, too. I could clearly remember watching the faces of my sweet kids cloud over and the tears gush forth as they felt the sharp sting of the needle. But what always hurt me even more than seeing those tears was that look of utter disbelief over my apparent betrayal. It was as if they were screaming: “I can’t believe you let them do this to me! How could you? Don’t you love me?”

As much as my husband and I have hurt for our kids when they have been sick or suffered emotionally, I think we’ve hurt me even more when instead of being companions in their suffering, they’ve seen us as part of their pain. When they disagreed with our discipline or decisions we made about things they could or couldn’t do, we became their enemies instead of their helpers and friends. And that is what hurt me most of all.

I wonder if God hurts that way, too. Those who have accepted Jesus Christ as their Savior are members of God’s family. Paul told the Ephesians: God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure” (Ephesians 1:5, NLT). John the Baptist also witnessed this truth.  But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, to those who believe in His name” (John 1:12).

God wanted to bring us into His family and the Scripture confirms that “it gave him great pleasure.” Just as we rejoice over the birth and lives of our children, God planned for our adoption into His family. He loves us. He wants us. So wouldn’t it naturally follow, that we can either bring Him joy or hurt Him deeply by our actions?

I’m sure there are limitless ways that you and I can hurt our Heavenly Father because we fail to “put off” things we should and fail to “put on” things we should. “But now you yourselves are to put off all these: anger, wrath, malice, blasphemy, filthy language out of your mouth. Do not lie to one another, since you have put off the old man with his deeds, and have put on the new man who is renewed in knowledge according to the image of Him who created him” (Colossians 3:8-10).But as a loving Father who chose us to be part of His family, I think we hurt Him in other ways as well.

I think God hurts when …..

  • I fail to honor and respect Him

 

“But in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect” (1 Peter 3:15, ESV).

 

 

  • I fail to seek Him and spend time with Him

 

“Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart” (Jeremiah 29:12-13).

 

 

  • I turn away from Him when I have questions  and don’t understand

 

“O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water”
(Psalm 63:1, ESV).

 

  • I don’t trust Him

 

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths” (Proverbs 3:5-6).

 

In much the same way as earthly parents desire to have a trusting relationship with their children, God surely desires that with you, me, and all of His children.  Anything less surely hurts Him. When God looks at me even when He sees tears on my cheeks and questions in my heart, I pray that He will see my face turned in faith to Him, seeking, resting, and trusting – because, after all, He is my Father and I know that He loves me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

