Posted by: glorifyhim1 | March 22, 2014

Undiscovered Treasures

Undiscovered Treasures

Recently, I accompanied my daughter to a department store while she shopped for some new jeans. Not planning to buy anything myself, I browsed through the clothing aisles casually looking at the various items. I was actually making my way to my favorite part of just about any department store – the kitchen section. I love to look at all the new gadgets, scout out all the small appliances, and decide if there is anything that my little kitchen really needs so I can begin a gradual hinting process.

But I never made it to the kitchen section. I was sidetracked by a simple sign at the end of a clothes rack – up to 70% off. Wow! I had to stop to look at this rack. As I thumbed through the assortment of tops, slacks, shorts, and some things I’m not exactly sure how they were supposed to be worn; I began to understand why they were marked 70% off! But, then, it happened. I spied a pair of lightweight jeans, the brand I love to wear, in a color I had looked for all last year and couldn’t find, and in my size! I flipped over the price tag and couldn’t believe my eyes – $12.59! I had found a treasure.

Almost immediately, I began to question what seemed too good to be true. “There must be something wrong with them,” I told myself. Hesitantly, I made my way to the dressing room, almost as if I needed to prove to myself that something was wrong. But when I tried them on, I can’t say they fit perfectly – my jeans never fit perfectly – but these were only $12.59!! And did I mention another 20% off my total purchase? I had discovered a treasure where I had not even planned to look.

The sad thing is that far too often we miss out on much more than a $12.59 pair of jeans. We miss out on real treasures in life all because we fail to stop and we fail to see.

As I get older and my memory begins to fade, I’m finding that I have much more trouble doing something that I’ve always done – multi-tasking. Oh, I can still do it, but when I do I discover that I miss out on things. I can’t seem to remember as much about one thing when my mind is trying to keep up with several things. Sometimes, I have to tell myself to just stop. Stop and concentrate on the immediate concern. Stop and enjoy the present moment. Stop and allow God to uncover His blessings according to His timing. There are so many treasures waiting to be discovered – precious times with our families and friends, beautiful things in the world around us, special moments with God Himself – but we have to stop the busyness and fully experience the moment.

I’ve also found that too often I look at things around me without really seeing. I can sit outside with my husband and enjoy watching the squirrels and birds in the yard. But my husband sees one squirrel chasing after another one carrying a walnut, the bluebirds and sparrows fighting over residence in a birdhouse, and the tree limb that needs to be cut out of a nearby tree. He not only looks, but he also sees what is really going on. It makes me wonder how many times I fail to see really important things. How often do I look at people, but fail to really see them? So often I look at people from my perspective, what’s going on in my world, how what they say or do affects me. In all honesty, I can’t always really see, understand, or know the why behind the words and actions of others. Are there hurts and worries? Could harsh comments or unkind words be a cry for help? Do I react to their outbursts or do I pray for them? Do I hold every wrong word or action against them, or do I forgive? Do I look beyond my limited vision and instead try to see God’s special treasure, this person that He created and loves, and that Jesus died to save? How many human treasures do I walk past, cast off, ignore, or fail to truly see?

It’s one thing to miss out on a $12.59 pair of jeans, but it’s quite another to miss out on priceless treasures that God brings into our lives. I want to take the time to discover every treasure He has prepared for me whether it be a golden sunset or a child’s laughter. And, most of all, I want to look beyond my limited vision, beyond the apparent and the world as I see it, and to truly see the people I meet and interact with every day, knowing that each one is God’s special treasure.

“When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers,
The moon and the stars, which You have ordained,
What is man that You are mindful of him,
And the son of man that You visit him?
 For You have made him a little lower than the angels,
And You have crowned him with glory and honor.”

(Psalm 8:3-5)

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

