Posted by: glorifyhim1 | February 28, 2014

When I Come to God

When I Come to God

This week my husband and I began the dreaded chore of repairing, painting, and trying to revive worn out, used up rooms. Now I don’t dread the anticipation, the planning and preparing. It’s fun to look at paint charts and plan how we can rearrange and change things. But all that eager anticipation quickly dissipates as chaos ensues. Mattresses and furniture take over the hallway and every vacant spot. Dust an inch thick is uncovered where furniture has been firmly planted for ten years or more. And then come the questions. Where did I get this? What should I do with this? What is this? And, finally, why ever did we start this?

I admit I wondered that a time or two this week. Whatever gave me the bright idea to move half of my bedroom into another room to make a work room/office? And would I ever be able to find anything again? I really can’t answer that last question since we haven’t finished yet. But we have finished repairing and painting one room and my main job now is cleaning out and moving what needs to go into that room. Can I say it again? What a mess!!

Yet in all the dust and all the mess, it is amazing the beautiful gems you can uncover – things that have been packed carefully away and stored for almost a lifetime. Yesterday, I laughed. I cried. I felt defeated. Yet I emerged with my heart overflowing, feeling like I must be the most blessed person in the world. You see, I unearthed container after container of cards, hand-written  letters and notes. There were notes of encouragement from friends and loved ones at some of the most difficult times of my life. There were messages of congratulations and best wishes at times of celebration and new beginnings. There were sweet notes of love from my then husband-to-be and scores and scores of hand-made cards with scrawled messages from the kids. I spent most of the morning immersed in all these memories that covered so many years.

As I enjoyed all the cards and notes from the kids, their frankness and simple honesty, I was reminded once again of something Jesus told His disciples.

Then they brought little children to Him, that He might touch them; but the disciples rebuked those who brought them. But when Jesus saw it, He was greatly displeased and said to them, ‘Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of God. Assuredly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will by no means enter it.’  And He took them up in His arms, laid His hands on them, and blessed them” (Mark 10:13-16).

Jesus set children apart as an example for all of His followers. How do we come to Jesus as a child? Jesus doesn’t list the qualities of children that we need to have, but as I looked through the cards and notes yesterday, I was reminded of a few that He may have had in mind.

  • They come with joy – not out of obligation, duty, or thinking “because I ought to.”
  • They come with complete honesty – just as I am with no pretense or dissimulation.
  • They come with simplicity – straightforward and natural.
  • They come with love – complete unbridled, overflowing love.

I couldn’t help but wonder what my Heavenly Father sees in me when I approach Him? Does He see me coming to Him with joy – just to be spending time with Him? Does He see me coming to Him with complete honesty – not trying to explain myself or justify my actions? Does He see me coming to Him as naturally as I would come to my earthly Daddy – approaching Him with complete trust and assurance that He loves me and wants to hear from me? Does He see love on my face and in my heart as I adore Him, praise Him, and just enjoy being with Him?

As I read so many of those simple kid-scrawled notes, I saw what I want God to see when I come to Him. I want Him to have no doubts about how much I love Him. And even if I may not always be able to express what is on my heart or understand exactly what is going on around me, I want Him to see a heart that is ready to trust in Him no matter what – because I believe in Him. Oh, when I come to God, may I come as a child!

Leave a Reply

Categories

