Posted by: glorifyhim1 | February 21, 2014

I Love You!

I Love You!

Recently, we were having a hectic morning in my kindergarten Sunday School class. It was just a small class, but things were just not going smoothly. Kids played with blocks, cars, and playdough. They made creation pictures, gluing and/or drawing pictures of things God. We talked about the Bible story and the wonderful world God made. But one moment I was cautioning a child to keep the cars on the carpet while at the same time I was helping a child find a picture of the sky for day two of creation. Meanwhile, I was trying to get a child involved who didn’t want to do anything – then there goes cars across the floor again! Finally, at group time everyone wanted to talk instead of listen. What had happened to my kindergartners? Could it have been being out of school almost the whole week before because of snow?

By the time we had finished group time, I was frazzled and frankly worn out. As we got the kids rounded up and they all sat down for snack, I turned on my laptop to show a small segment from a DVD that accompanies our lesson. Now I had inserted the DVD, located today’s lesson on God’s Wonderful World, and had it all ready before I had even left home for church. But for whatever reason, every time I tried to play the DVD, it would play the segment for last week’s story. I tried going to my main computer file and selecting the DVD drive again, but instead of bringing up the menu, it would go straight to the same segment. I took out the DVD and re-inserted it, but again it by-passed the menu and went straight to last week’s segment. As I feverishly worked, trying to find the correct file, one little visitor (whom I had never seen before this particular Sunday) seated beside of me, leaned over and looked up into my face as he happily munched his goldfish. “I love you,” he said with a smile.

Miraculously, the segment for this Sunday’s Bible story began to play (I have no idea what I did any differently) – and my heart melted. Suddenly, the hectic morning didn’t seem quite as crazy and I didn’t feel nearly as frazzled and worn out as I had earlier. And all because, for whatever reason, one little fellow decided to tell me that he loved me.

“I love you!” Just three little words, but what a powerful impact they can have. We all want to be loved and appreciated, loved and understood, loved and cared for, loved and _______ (you can fill in the blank). But whether it is a sweet little preschooler, a loving parent, spouse, child, or friend; not one of them can fully volunteer the type of love that encompasses all that I am and all that I need. There is only one who can offer that kind of all-knowing, all-encompassing love. This is the kind of love that comes straight from the heart of God, Himself, our loving Heavenly Father.

Yet, in all honesty, does God’s love really make a difference in your life? Does it make a difference in you? Have you questioned God’s love when you were going through difficulties or being treated unjustly? Have you wondered about God’s love when some of your most precious dreams and desires continue to go unfulfilled? What about when you pour out your heart to God, but He seems so dreadfully silent? Do you ever question how a God who loves us enough to send His own Son to redeem us could allow such things to happen?

I have been in those places, too. And while I certainly don’t have all the answers or any neatly ordered explanations to offer anyone in those hard places, I do know that it was God who met me in those places, who loved me and walked with me through them. The following verse was one that I clung to after we lost our first daughter who was stillborn many years ago.

“Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am persuaded than neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:37-39).

This verse has become my “go to” verse whenever I’ve struggled to make sense of things that make no sense. I may never know or fully understand why some things happen, but God’s Word assures me that absolutely nothing can ever separate me from His love. When I face difficulties, this verse reminds me that my God loves me and that He will not forsake me when I need Him most. It’s just as if He is like that little preschooler, saying, “Don’t forget. I love you!”

But God’s love is more than three little words that make us feel good. It flows from His very nature – who He is. “He who does not love does not know God, for God is love” (1 John 4:8). God’s love is active and full of promise. Psalm 23 presents a wonderful description and a reminder of God’s love and care for His children. Take a moment to read this psalm (printed below) and think about what it means to be loved by God.

The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell[
a] in the house of the Lord
Forever.

 

God’s love provides our every need, surrounds and protects us, leads and guides us, and refreshes and restores us. God’s love assures us that He will never leave or forsake us, but that He will continually pursue us with His goodness and mercy – His faithful love. And even more, God’s love reminds us that not only will He be there for us today, but that He has also prepared for our tomorrow when we will dwell with Him forever. I pray that whatever you are going through today that you will be aware of God’s presence and that you will hear Him say to you – whether it is through food on your table, a hug from a friend, direction for your journey, or perhaps through three simple words from a little child – “I love you!”

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

